Cart 0
Cassandra Wilson - Coming Forth By Day on 180g 2LP - direct audio

Cassandra Wilson - Coming Forth By Day on 180g Vinyl 2LP

Legacy Records

  • $ 3398

Cassandra Wilson Coming Forth By Day on 180g Vinyl 2LP

New Musical Homage to Legendary Jazz Vocalist Billie Holiday Produced by Nick Launay

Featuring T Bone Burnett, Nick Zinner (Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs) & The Bad Seeds Rhythm Section (Thomas Wydler / Martyn P. Casey) Plus String Arrangements from Van Dyke Parks

Legacy Recordings has signed Grammy-winning American vocalist Cassandra Wilson to the label and her first release will be the new album Coming Forth By Day. A musical homage to legendary jazz vocalist Billie Holiday on the 100th anniversary of the singer's birth, Coming Forth By Day is Wilson's moody, soulful showcase for contemporary yet timeless interpretations of standards associated with Lady Day. Coming Forth By Day was produced by Nick Launay, known as Nick Cave's producer for the last decade among many other adventurous credits.

"Cassandra Wilson is one of the world's most elegant and tasteful artists. Her decision to channel the spirit of Billie Holiday on her new album is a perfect complement to Legacy's plans for celebrating Lady Day's centennial," said Legacy Recordings President Adam Block. "It's an absolute treat to work with Cassandra in the realization of this unexpected and sublimely beautiful music."

Wilson recorded Coming Forth By Day in Los Angeles at Seedy Underbelly studios with an A list musical team including producer Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs, Arcade Fire), guitarists T Bone Burnett and Nick Zinner of the Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs, string arranger Van Dyke Parks and rhythm section The Bad Seeds (drummer Thomas Wydler and bassist Martyn P. Casey).

"A dream of mine is happening," said Cassandra Wilson, "I've been in love with Billie Holiday's voice since the moment I heard it, and she has inspired me throughout my career."

Among her many awards and honors, Cassandra Wilson has earned two Grammys (1996, Best Jazz Vocal Performance for New Moon Daughter; 2009, Best Jazz Vocal Album for Loverly); been named Down Beat's Female Jazz Vocalist of the Year (1994-1996); received the Montreal International Jazz Festival's Miles Davis Prize (1999); and was named "America's Best Singer" in Time magazine (2001).

Cassandra Wilson Coming Forth By Day Track Listing:


1. Don’t Explain
2. Billie’s Blues
3. Crazy He Calls Me
4. You Go To My Head
5. All Of Me
6. The Way You Look Tonight


1. Good Morning Heartache
2. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
3. These Foolish Things
4. Strange Fruit
5. I’ll Be Seeing You
6. Last Song (For Lester)

We Also Recommend