We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Cassandra Wilson - Loverly Vinyl LP - direct audio

Cassandra Wilson - Loverly Vinyl LP

Blue Note Records

  • $ 2398

Cassandra Wilson Loverly Vinyl LP

51st Annual Grammy Awards, Best Jazz Vocal Album ,Loverly ~ Cassandra Wilson!

"…Cassandra Wilson harkens back to her excellent 1988 standards album Blue Skies, weaving an alluring honey-toned spell throughout this superb collection of jazz standards…Sonically, every nuance of Riley's slick brushwork and Babalola's layered percussion is felt. Intimate, close-miking of Wilson captures the fullness of her deep, husky tones – along with every breath she takes." – Bob Gendron, The Absolute Sound, August 2008

For Thunderbird, her 2006 Blue Note recording, vocalist Cassandra Wilson explored the outer reaches of jazz with a multi-layered sonic approach piloted by pop producer T-Bone Burnett. This time, Wilson ventures into another fascinating direction with Loverly, a tantalizing, rhythmically-driven collection of jazz standards given new luster with a top-drawer band of friends that includes Marvin Sewell on guitar, Jason Moran on piano, Herlin Riley on drums, Lonnie Plaxico on bass and Lekan Babalola on percussion, with special guest appearances by bassist Reginald Veal and trumpeter Nicholas Payton.

Cassandra Wilson Loverly Track Listing:

1. Lover Come Back to Me
2. Black Orpheus
3. Wouldn't It Be Loverly
4. Gone with the Wind
5. Caravan
6. 'Til There Was You
7. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most
8. Arere
9. St. James Infirmary
10. Dust My Broom
11. Very Thought of You
12. Sleepin' Bee

We Also Recommend