Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Cecile McLorin - Salvant WomanChild 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Cecile McLorin - Salvant WomanChild 180g Vinyl 2LP

Mack Avenue Records

  • $ 3598

Cecile McLorin Salvant WomanChild 180g 2LP

This Audiophile Vinyl Edition of Woman Child is a First-Rate Female Vocal LP - Cut by Kevin Gray and Pressed at RTI

Vinyl Edition of the Debut from Cecile McLorin Salvant Includes Two Previously Unreleased Tracks!

Cecile McLorin Salvant arrived at the Kennedy Center in Washington competing in the finals of the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition. She was the youngest finalist, and unknown; a mystery woman with the most unusual background. A huge buzz began immediately after she walked away with first prize in the most prestigious competition in jazz. The buzz has certainly intensified in the months leading up to the launch of her Mack Avenue Records debut, WomanChild.

There, thousands of miles away from jazz’s land of origin, McLorin Salvant entered into a fruitful partnership with reed player and teacher Jean-Francois Bonnel, first as a student and soon as a performer. Before returning to the US, she gave concerts in Paris, recorded with Bonnel’s quintet, and immersed herself in the early jazz and blues vocal tradition. By the time she returned to her home country to take the stage in the Monk Competition, she had drawn on this unusual set of formative experiences in shaping a personal style of jazz singing, surprising and dramatic by turns, and very much in contrast to that of the other participants and McLorin Salvant’s contemporaries.

In the aftermath of McLorin Salvant’s triumph at the Monk Competition, the jazz world eagerly awaited the winner’s first US recording. Answering that call with WomanChild, McLorin Salvant draws on songs spanning three centuries of American music. “I like to choose songs that are a little unknown or have been recorded very few times,” McLorin Salvant notes. “While these songs aren’t recognized as standards, many should be because they are so beautifully crafted.”

“I want to get as close to the center of the song as I can,” McLorin Salvant explains. “When I find something beautiful and touching I try to get close to it, and share that with the audience.” On WomanChild, McLorin Salvant gives music lovers the chance to hear why the illustrious judges at the Monk Competition gave her top honors. McLorin Salvant is still a bit of a mystery, but she will hardly be a secret any longer.


Cécile McLorin Salvant – vocals, piano on “Jitterbug Waltz”
Aaron Diehl – piano
Rodney Whitaker – double bass
Herlin Riley – drums
James Chirillo – guitar, banjo

Cecile McLorin Salvant WomanChild Track Listing:

1. St. Louis Gal
2. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
3. Nobody
4. WomanChild
5. Le Front Caché Sur Tes Genoux
6. Prelude/There’s A Lull In My Life
7. You Bring Out The Savage In Me
8. Baby Have Pity On Me


1. John Henry
2. Take It Right Back *
3. Mean To Me *
4. Jitterbug Waltz
5. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
6. Deep Dark Blue

We Also Recommend