We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Chai - Punk Vinyl LP + Digital Download Card - direct audio

Chai - Punk Vinyl LP + Digital Download Card

Burger Records

  • $ 2198

Chai Punk Vinyl LP + Digital Download Card

Chai is an adventure where all-things are pink, a sound that fuses the likings of Basement Jaxx, CSS, and Tom Tom Club, lyrics catered to self-empowerment and re-defining the definition of "kawaii" or cute, and indescribably fun visuals that'll surely absorb you whole! The four-piece band from Nagoya, Japan consists of identical twins Mana (vocals/keys), Kana (guitar/cho), Yuuki (bass/cho), and Yuna (drums/cho) - bound together in 2015.

Chai's concept of "NEOkawaii" or new cute derived from personal experiences where they simply did not fit into society's standard of "cute." This concept has drawn in audiences world-wide and can be best described in their hit single, "N.E.O.", from their first album Pink. This adventure would lead them to U.S. indie label Burger Records who released Pink in February 2018 followed by their "We Are CHAI" Tour.

Now they return on the label with its follow-up Punk. Chai's second album is the embodiment of the word "punk" in spirit, combined with the feelings and experiences they endured during their adventures touring in the US, UK, and Ireland after the release of their debut.

Punk features "Fashionista," mixed by UK-based Marta Salogni whose credits include Frank Ocean, Bjork, MIA and more, and "Curly Adventure," mixed by US-based Daniel Schlett whose credits include Ghostface Killah, War on Drugs, Arto Lindsay and more, which was a first for Chai as the band had only used Japan-based engineers in the past. "The sound was totally different...I felt like the beat itself was stronger," says Kana. "Compared with out first album Pink, Punk represents a more concentrated version of all of our individualities," adds Yuna.

Chai Punk Track Listing:

1. Choose Go!
2. Great Job
3. I'm me
4. Wintime
5. This Is Chai
6. Fashionista
7. Family Member
8. Curly Adventure
9. Feel The Beat
10. Future

We Also Recommend