We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Cheap Trick - At Budokan: The Complete Concert 180g Import Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Cheap Trick - At Budokan: The Complete Concert 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Music On Vinyl Records

  • $ 3298

Cheap Trick At Budokan: The Complete Concert 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Cheap Trick at Budokan is the famous best-selling live album by the American rock band Cheap Trick. The louder, roaring versions of such Rick Nielsen classics as "I Want You to Want Me" and "Come On, Come On" connected to a wide audience. The music is terrific and it certainly is interesting to hear all of this the way it was actually performed. Their raw-powered riffage and three-chord structures songs made an impression all over the world. After this recording in Japan they became the rising stars in the musical world of the late '70s. Both the Cheap Trick fans as the rock lover in general will need this document of the band's most celebrated concert.

The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2016, 43 years after their formation.

Cheap Trick found early success in Japan, and capitalized on this popularity by recording Cheap Trick at Budokan in Tokyo on April 28 and 30, 1978, with an audience of 12,000 screaming Japanese fans nearly drowning out the band at times.

The album was intended for release only in Japan but with strong airplay of the promotional album From Tokyo to You, an estimated 30,000 import copies were sold in the United States and the album was released domestically in February 1979. The album also introduced two previously unreleased original songs, "Lookout" and "Need Your Love".

An unusual aspect of the album release in the UK was the use of coloured vinyl, then primarily restricted to singles and EP's, and soon replaced as a marketing gimmick by so-called "picture discs". A prominently displayed sticker on the sleeve of "Live at Budokan" announced that it had been released on "kamikaze yellow vinyl", and, unlike most coloured discs, which were usually as opaque as the conventional black vinyl records, the disc in the album is translucent.

When Cheap Trick at Budokan was first released on compact disc in the U.S., the first pressing contained a slightly different, possibly unpolished mix of the concert. Notably the guitar trade offs of "Ain't That A Shame" were obviously different from the vinyl release.

Cheap Trick At Budokan: The Complete Concert Track Listing:


1. Hello There
2. Come On, Come On
3. Elo Kiddies
4. Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace
5. Big Eyes
6. Lookout
7. Downed
8. Can't Hold On
9. Oh Caroline
10. Surrencer


1. Auf Wiedersehen
2. Need Your Love
3. High Roller
4. Southern Girls
5. I Want You to Want Me
6. California Man
7. Goodnight
8. Ain't That A Shame
9. Clock Strikes Ten

We Also Recommend