We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

Chet Baker - Chet Baker Sings 180g Import Vinyl LP & 7"

Glamourama Records

  • $ 2998

Chet Baker Chet Baker Sings 180g Import Vinyl LP & 7"

Chet Baker Sings is the debut vocal album by jazz musician Chet Baker, released in 1954 by Pacific Jazz Records. In 2001, the album received the Grammy Hall of Fame Award.

"As Gerald Heard's liner notes point out, it's difficult to decide whether Chet Baker was a trumpet player who sang or a singer who played trumpet. When the 24-year-old California-based trumpeter started his vocal career in 1954, his singing was revolutionary; as delicate and clear as his trumpet playing, with a similarly bright and vibrato-free tone, Baker simply didn't sound like any previous jazz singer. His first vocal session, recorded in February 1954 and covering tracks seven through 14 of this disc, is so innocent-sounding it's like cub reporter Jimmy Olsen had started a new career as a jazz singer.

The album's first six tracks, recorded in July 1956, are even more milk and cookies, thanks in no small part to syrupy material like Frank Loesser's 'I've Never Been in Love Before' and Donaldson/Kahn's drippy 'My Buddy.' Choices from the earlier session like 'My Funny Valentine' -- arguably the definitive version of this oft-recorded song -- and 'There Will Never Be Another You' work much, much better. The spacious musical setting, a simple trumpet and piano-bass-drums rhythm section, is perfect for Baker's low-key style. Despite the few faults of song selection, Chet Baker Sings is a classic of West Coast cool jazz." - AllMusic

Chet Baker Chet Baker Sings Track Listing:

1. That Old Feeling
2. It's Always You
3. Like Someone In Love
4. My Ideal
5. I've Never Been In Love Before
6. My Buddy
7. But Not For Me
8. Time After Time
9. I Get Along Without You Very Well
10. My Funny Valentine
11. There Will Never Be Another You
12. The Thrill Is Gone
13. I Fall In Love Too Easily
14. Look For The Silver Lining

7" Bonus Single:
1. My Funny Valentine
2. Let's Get Lost / Forgetful

We Also Recommend