Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Chicago - Chicago 17 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Chicago - Chicago 17 180g Vinyl LP

Friday Music

  • $ 3398

Chicago Chicago 17 180g Vinyl LP

Mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios & Captiol Mastering in Hollywood, CA Along with Chicago's Lee Loughnane

The Chicago that created the multiplatinum blockbuster Chicago 17 isn't the band that started out as a jazz-rock ensemble interested in complex time changes or even the progressive AM pop group that it became in the 1970s. No, this is a collective that shoots for and attains popular glory via streamlined arrangements, unforgettable refrains, dramatic balladry, and timeless melodies. Hitching its wagon to Peter Cetera's tender tenor croon, and bringing a new sound to the fore, Chicago redefines 1980s pop on this 1984 classic – setting the stage for the power ballads and sweeping slow-dance fare that would ultimately dominate the decade.

Whether you view Chicago 17 as a guilty pleasure or all-time classic doesn't matter. The numbers don't lie. And neither do the surfeit of soft-rock hooks. The mere mentions of songs like "You're the Inspiration," "Stay the Night," "Hard Habit to Break," and "Along Comes A Woman" immediately trigger a flood of memories and sweetened choruses, each hit a lesson in the art of mellow persuasion, gentle communication, and sparkling songwriting. In maintaining an intimate vibe but making the grooves come on with widescreen proportions, cozy bass lines and sympathetic drum beats are elevated to previously unforeseen levels.

The man behind the transformation, sonic mastermind David Foster, uses Chicago 17 as a canvas for exceptional backing harmonies and rejoinders. Along with Humberto Garcia, awarded the Grammy for Best Engineered Recording, Non-Classical, Foster received the prestigious award for Best Instrumental Arrangement for his work on "Hard Habit to Break." Limited edition 180g vinyl pressing from Friday Music, mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios and Capitol Mastering in Hollywood, CA along with Chicago's Lee Loughnane.

Chicago Chicago 17 Track Listing:

1. Stay the Night
2. We Can Stop the Hurtin'
3. Hard Habit to Break
4. Only You
5. Remember the Feeling
6. Along Comes A Woman
7. You're the Inspiration
8. Please Hold On
9. Prima Donna
10. Once In A Lifetime

We Also Recommend