We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Chuck Jackson - I Don't Want To Cry! 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Chuck Jackson - I Don't Want To Cry! 180g Vinyl LP

Sundazed Records

  • $ 2298

Chuck Jackson I Don't Want To Cry! 180g Vinyl LP 

Mastered from the Original Analog Reels in the Rare True Stereo Mix

Growing up in Pittsburgh, Chuck Jackson witnessed first-hand the rise of the city’s vibrant doo wop scene. Joining local heroes the Del Vikings, his smooth, commanding voice took the lead on their 1957 single “Willette.” Going solo in 1959, Jackson was spotted by producer/Wand Records A&R man Luther Dixon while opening for Jackie Wilson at the Apollo Theater.

With Dixon, Jackson co-wrote his first hit, “I Don’t Want to Cry.” The track featured a lavish band arrangement, a style Dixon had perfected during his sessions with the Shirelles. Together, Jackson and Dixon carefully crafted I Don’t Want to Cry! (1961), Jackson’s debut LP. A concept album dedicated to songs about crying, it finds Jackson covering mentor Wilson (“Lonely Teardrops”) as well as an early Burt Bacharach–Hal David composition (“I Wake Up Crying”). Audibly in command, Jackson’s vocals blend seamlessly with Dixon’s arrangements, resulting in an astonishingly accomplished album.

Working from the original analog reels, Sundazed has mastered this landmark LP in the rare true stereo mix. Pressed at R.T.I. on lush 180 gram vinyl, every string swell, every horn phrase and, most importantly, every vocal performance comes through in “you are there” clarity. No collection is complete without this Brill Building classic!

Chuck Jackson I Don't Want To Cry! Track Listing:

1. I Don't Want To Cry
2. Tears On My Pillow
3. Willow Tree
4. In Between Tears
5. Tear Of The Year
6. I Cried For You
7. Lonely Teardrops
8. Don't Let The Sun Catch You Crying
9. Salty Tears
10. I Wake Up Crying
11. A Tear
12. A Man Ain't Supposed To Cry

We Also Recommend