We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Citizen Cope - Heroin and Helicopters Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) - direct audio

Citizen Cope - Heroin and Helicopters Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock)

Rarebreed Records

  • $ 1998

Citizen Cope Heroin and Helicopters Vinyl LP

Comprised of eleven new, original songs all written and produced by Citizen Cope, Heroin and Helicopters serves as his first album in seven years and marks a return to a grassroots approach to musicianship, one that's colored by hard work, hustle and heart, irrespective of the obstacles he's encountered throughout twenty-five years as a career artist.

Cope came up with the title after an encounter with Carlos Santana, who has been a fan since before their 2002 collaboration on his rework of the Cope song "Sideways." Santana told Cope to "stay away from the two H's - heroin and helicopters," saying both had fatal results for people in music.

To Cope, the quote reflected a larger pattern in society - a metaphor for addiction and instant gratification, both themes that thread throughout the record. The LP tackles Cope's personal struggles with religion, political manipulation, hollowness in the entertainment world, and spiritual enlightenment, as he contends with his own role in those societal institutions. It opens with "Duck Confit," a poetic spoken word piece backed by 808 kicks and an ominous organ.

"The River" is a slow-burning reflection on tyrannical systems that betray and oppress, though it ends on a note of hope - "I never wanted to lose your love / I just wanted to choose our love." Quiet stand-out "On My Love" is a stark, heart-wrenching tribute to Cope's daughter Lula, and an attempt on Cope's part to pass his life's lessons on to her.

Citizen Cope Heroin and Helicopters Track Listing:

1. Duck Confit
2. Justice
3. Hours on End
4. The River
5. War
6. On My Love
7. Caribbean Skies
8. Sally Walks
9. Yella
10. Silver Blush
11. Forbidden

We Also Recommend