Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Clipping - Visions of Bodies Being Burned Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Clipping - Visions of Bodies Being Burned Vinyl 2LP

Sub Pop Records

  • $ 2998

Clipping Visions of Bodies Being Burned Vinyl 2LP

In Halloween 2019, Los Angeles experimental rap mainstays Clipping ended their three-year silence with the horrorcore-inspired album There Existed an Addiction to Blood. The following October, rapper Daveed Diggs, and producers Jonathan Snipes and William Hutson return with an even higher body count, more elaborate kills, and monsters that just won't stay dead. Visions of Bodies Being Burned is less a sequel than it is the second half of a planned diptych. It turns out, Clipping took to the thematic material of horrorcore like vampires to grave soil.

In the years following Splendor & Misery – the band's acclaimed dystopian science fiction-rap epic – they simply made too many songs for one album. Before the release of There Existed..., Clipping and Sub Pop divided the material up into two albums, designed to be released only months apart. However, a global pandemic and multiple canceled tours pushed the release of the project's "part two" until the following Halloween season.

Visions of Bodies Being Burned contains thirteen more scary stories disguised as rap songs, incorporating as much influence from Ernest Dickerson, Clive Barker, and Shirley Jackson as it does from Three 6 Mafia, Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, and Brotha Lynch Hung. Clipping are never critical of their cultural references. Their angular, shattered interpretations of existing musical styles are always deferential, driven by fandom for the object of study rather than disdain for it. 

Each track pairs a different expression of horror with one of Clipping's signature metamorphic takes on a hip-hop subgenre. "Eaten Alive" pays tribute to the Tobe Hooper film of the same name, aping the swampy drag of No Limit and their ilk over a jagged jazz-rap instrumental featuring Tortoise guitar genius Jeff Parker, and experimental LA drummer Ted Byrnes. "Enlacing" posits Lovecraftian cosmic terror as the result of a psychedelic drift into nothingness, played as a smeary, cloud rap haze. 

Clipping Visions of Bodies Being Burned Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Say the Name
3. '96 Neve Campbell (feat. Cam & China)
4. Something Underneath
5. Make Them Dead
6. She Bad
7. Pain Everyday (with Michael Esposito)
8. Check the Lock
9. Looking Like Meat (feat. Ho99o9)
10. Eaten Alive (with Jeff Parker & Ted Byrnes)
11. Body for the Pile (with Sickness)
12. Enlacing
13. Secret Piece

We Also Recommend