Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Coil - Musick to Play in the Dark Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Coil - Musick to Play in the Dark Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

DIAS Records

  • $ 2898

Coil Musick to Play in the Dark Vinyl 2LP

Reissued for the First Time in 20 Years on Double Vinyl LP with the Unedited Versions of Each Song and Exclusive D-Side Etching; Remastered by Engineer Josh Bonati with Restored Artwork and Layout by Nathaniel Young

Few groups in recent history forged as confounding and alchemical a body of work as Coil, the partnership of Peter 'Sleazy' Christopherson and John Balance. From album to album and phase to phase their recordings spelunk perplexing depths of esoteric industrial, occult electronics, and drugged poetry, both embodying and alienating parallel currents of their peers.

Convening at Balance and Christopherson's vast Victorian house/studio in the coastal town of Weston-super-Mare, they began a series of ambitious sessions aided by inner circle associates Thighpaulsandra and Drew McDowall. Although the creative process was admittedly "iterative" and "a bit of a drug blur," the results are astoundingly inventive and well realized, winding through shades of divination dirge, wormhole kosmische, noir lounge, ominous humor, and black mass downtempo, guided by Balance's cryptic lunar muse, which he announces on the opening track: "This is moon musick / in the light of the moon."

What's most remarkable about the album 20 years after its release is how brazen, insular, and unpredictable it still feels. The songs follow an allusive, altered state logic all their own, warping from microscopic ripples of glitch and breath to widescreen warlock psychedelia and back again, as much hyper-sensory as inter-dimensional. Even within a catalog as eclectic as Coil's, Musick To Play In The Dark is a mystifying collection, oneiric evocations of desire, decadence, dinner jazz, and dietary advice, far beyond the pale of whatever gothic industrial ambiguity birthed such a journey.

Reissued for the first time in over 20 years, now on double vinyl LP with the complete, unedited versions of each song and an exclusive "D-side" vinyl art etching. Packaged in a sturdy matte jacket with embossed lettering and spot-gloss design elements. Remastered by engineer Josh Bonati with restored artwork and layout by Nathaniel Young - all under the project supervision of Drew McDowall and Thighpaulsandra.

Coil Musick to Play in the Dark Vinyl Track Listing:

1. Are You Shivering?
2. Red Birds Will Fly Out of the East and Destroy Paris in a Night
3. Red Queen
4. Broccoli
5. Strange Birds
6. The Dreamer is Still Asleep

We Also Recommend