We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Cop Shoots Cop - Release Colored Vinyl LP - direct audio

Cop Shoots Cop - Release Colored Vinyl LP

New Red Archives

  • $ 1598

Cop Shoots Cop Release Colored Vinyl LP

CSC's final album before their split in 1995 that features some of the group's most accessible songs such as "It Only Hurts When I Breathe," "Suckerpunch" and more! CSC drummer Phil Puleo has been a permanent member of Swans since 2010 while vocalist Tod A. went on to form the world punk band Firewater!

Initially, the group was a trio of Tod A. (vocals, bass guitar), David Ouimet (keyboards, sampler) and Phil Puleo on drums and "metal" (he incorporated various found objects into his drum set). (Tod and Puleo had earlier played in a short-lived Providence, Rhode Island group, Dig Dat Hole, with guitarist John Rose.)

The A./Puleo/Ouimet lineup was captured on the "Headkick Facsimile" 12" EP, which was released in a small pressing by the Japanese record label Supernatural Organization in 1989 (later reissued by the group's own Subvert Entertainment in 1994 with the addition of the song "Robert Tilton Handjob" from the "Piece Man" 7"). Wharton Tiers engineered the EP.

Puleo reports their name was inspired by both the band members' shared dislike of police officers, and a newspaper headline about a botched police raid, reading "'Cop Shot Cop' or maybe it was 'Cop Shoots Cop.'" Another possible explanation for the band's moniker is what is described as a "junkie's to do list:" "cop" (obtain drugs, especially heroin) "shoot" (Inject the drugs)" and "cop" again.

Cop Shoots Cop Release Track Listing:

1. Interference
2. It Only Hurts When I Breathe
3. Last Legs
4. Two at a Time
5. Slackjaw
6. Lullaby
7. Any Day Now
8. Swimming in Circles
9. Turning Inside Out
10. Ambulance Song
11. Suckerpunch
12. The Divorce
13. Money-Drunk

We Also Recommend