Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Damien Jurado - Saint Bartlett Vinyl LP - direct audio

Damien Jurado - Saint Bartlett Vinyl LP

Secretly Canadian Drugs

  • $ 1698

Damien Jurado Saint Bartlett Vinyl LP

2010's Saint Bartlett opens up with a grandiosity yet unheard on a Damien Jurado album. It strips away the many layers of paint from the house down the street where we know Jurado has occupied for the last decade. The new coat is exhilarating. It makes the whole neighborhood shine. It's a modest grandiosity; still homegrown. The mellotron swells, heavenly handclaps ring in stereo and big drums create a sky for the songs to fly in.

And the words. Words spring forth from within the volcano of Jurado, full of hope. There's so much hope, in fact, that album opener "Cloudy Shoes" turns into a call-and-response with himself, as though it were a dialogue between two halves of himself. Richard Swift's Spector-esque production is spot-on. He ferries Jurado across the river, where the metamorphosis occurs.

He then ferries him back, and it is through Swift's lens that we see Jurado not as a folk singer, but as a mystic - somewhere between Van Morrison, Scott Walker and Wayne Coyne. Saint Bartlett was made entirely at Swift's National Freedom studio in Oregon, in just under a week with only Jurado and Swift as the performers.

Damien Jurado Saint Bartlett Track Listing:

1. Cloudy Shoes
2. Arkansas
3. Rachel & Cali
4. Throwing Your Voice
5. Wallingford
6. Pear
7. Kansas City
8. Harborview
9. Kalama
10. The Falling Snow
11. Beacon Hill
12. With Lightning In Your Hands

We Also Recommend