Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Danny Elfman: Dick Tracy Original Score Colored Vinyl LP - direct audio

Danny Elfman: Dick Tracy Original Score Colored Vinyl LP

Warner Bros.

  • $ 2498

Danny Elfman: Dick Tracy Original Score Colored Vinyl LP

Produced and partly written by Andy Paley, this is a nice surprise -- a collection of original material designed as source music for the movie (with some more modern alternate versions that only appear on the album). Paley seems to have taken the mandate given him quite seriously -- the songs here take a variety of styles from circa 1930 to 1939 and run with them.

You have a nice mix as a result, from blues belters (Patti Austin's "The Confidence Man") to Cab Calloway stylings ("Wicked Woman, Foolish Man," sung by August Darnell, who takes many of his own performing cues from Calloway, and does him proud here) to the Western swing of "It Was the Whiskey Talkin' (Not Me)," sung by Jerry Lee Lewis and sounding as though the CD player has suddenly turned into a Victrola spinning at 78 rpm. Even better than all of these, you have "Pep, Vim and Verve" performed by Jeff Vincent and Andy Paley, backed by the White Heat Swing Orchestra; this following k.d. Lang and Take 6 doing "Ridin' the Rails" -- a one-two opening combination.

Even Ice-T's track, "Dick Tracy," manages to work because a) it really isn't a rap and b) its tongue is firmly in cheek (though there's a strong wish here that it had been done Spike Jones fashion). Again, unlike Prince's Batman, this album may work because it was conceived as part and parcel of the movie itself, rather than being thrown in as an afterthought along the way.

Because of this, there's a stronger connectivity to the whole musical structure, from Madonna's album (on which a couple of songs originally meant for this album wound up) to this one, and the Danny Elfman underscore. This is an album I can recommend for the performances and the overall energy that went into it.

Danny Elfman: Dick Tracy Original Score Track Listing:

1. Main Titles
2. After The “Kid”
3. Crime Spree
4. Breathless’ Theme
5. Big Boy / Bad Boys
6. Tess’ Theme
7. Slimy D.A.
8. Breathless Comes On
9. Meet The Blank
10. The Story Unfolds
11. Blank Gets The Goods
12. Rooftops
13. Tess’ Theme – Reprise
14. The Chase
15. Showdown/Reunited
16. Finale

We Also Recommend