We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Dave Alvin - King of California: 25th Anniversary Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Dave Alvin - King of California: 25th Anniversary Vinyl 2LP

Craft Recordings

  • $ 2998

Dave Alvin King of California: 25th Anniversary Vinyl 2LP

Dave Alvin, Grammy Award winning singer-songwriter and self-described "barroom guitarist," is widely considered to be one of the pivotal founders of the current Americana music scene. Alvin's four decades of recordings and live performances move through the loud, aggressive rock and roll of The Blasters to the contemplative acoustic storytelling of his solo albums which incorporate elements of traditional folk music and the electric blues. Alvin has always managed to unite seemingly disparate genres into a cohesive vision of contemporary roots music.

Recorded in Los Angeles the day after the historic 1994 Northridge earthquake and produced by Greg Leisz, Alvin's critically acclaimed Hightone Records release, King of California had its genesis in the album's title track, a readymade folk ballad, written for his mother, in which an aspiring suitor heads west to make his fortune in the wild, still-young Golden State. "King of California is when I decided ‘this is when I let the song tell me what it sounds like,'" says Alvin. "Ever since then, that's been my rule. It sounds ridiculous, but it was something I had to learn."

Available on vinyl for the first time in honor of the album's 25th anniversary, this remastered and expanded 2LP edition includes a previously unreleased track from the recording sessions, "Riverbed Rag," an instrumental designed for a guitar-dobro duel by Alvin and Leisz, and inspired by the usually dry San Gabriel River that both musicians grew up exploring. Two additional covers, Merle Haggard's "Kern River," originally recorded for the 1994 Haggard tribute album Tulare Dust (co-produced by Alvin and Tom Russell), and Katy Moffatt's "The Cuckoo," from her 1999 Alvin-produced album Loose Diamond, round out the bonus tracks while new liner notes are provided by Grammy-nominated writer Chris Morris.


• 25th anniversary vinyl 2LP pressing from Craft Recordings
• First time available on vinyl
• Remastered and expanded
• Features three bonus tracks including the previously unreleased session song, "Riverbed Rag"
• New liner notes by Chris Morris

Dave Alvin King of California: 25th Anniversary Track Listing:


1. King of California
2. Barn Burning
3. Fourth of July
4. Goodbye Again (duet with Rose Flores)
5. East Texas Blues
6. Every Night About This Time
7. Bus Station
8. Mother Earth
9. Blue Wing


1. Little Honey
2. (I Won’t Be) Leaving
3. What I Am Worth (duet with Syd Straw)
4. Border Radio
5. Riverbed Rag (bonus track) *
6. The Cuckoo (duet with Katy Moffat) (bonus track)
7. Kern River (bonus track)

* previously unreleased

We Also Recommend