We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
David Chesworth - Layer On Layer Colored Vinyl LP - direct audio

David Chesworth - Layer On Layer Colored Vinyl LP

Chapter Music

  • $ 2098

David Chesworth Layer On Layer Colored Vinyl LP

Chapter Music presents a colored vinyl reissue of Melbourne post-punk icon David Chesworth's mutant punk-funk second album, 1981's Layer On Layer. After his revered 1979 debut 50 Synthesizer Greats (reissued by Chapter in 2017), David swapped the solo home-recorded synths for something very different - infectious, percussive art-funk weirdness. 21 years old in 1980, studying at LaTrobe University in Melbourne, David gradually worked out how to use the 8-track recording studio at the university's music depart- ment. Working ‘under the radar' at night and on weekends, Chesworth built Layer On Layer from the ground up, using non-instruments like telephone directories, books, cardboard boxes and metal car parts, as well as an Indondesian anklung, untuned acoustic guitar and autoharp.

With Layer On Layer he created a uniquely art-damaged sound world, driven by propulsive, irresistible rhythms but emphasizing chance, experimentation and playfulness. Lyrics and vocals (a first for Chesworth on this album) are used as an arch running commentary on the record-making task. Some songs employ random number games to build rhythmic patterns, and remnants pop up unexpectedly from the secondhand reels Chesworth was taping over. Robert Goodge, Chesworth's bandmate in the celebrated Essendon Airport, contributes his trademark cyclical guitar on some tracks, with Tsk Tsk Tsk's Ralph Traviato on sax and other Tsk members Philip Brophy, Jayne Stevenson and Maria Kozic on backing vocals.

Layer On Layer was the beginning of David's investigations into rhythm, and remains one of his most striking works. His records and productions through the '70s and '80s have since become hugely sought-after collectors' items and DJ holy grails, across his solo work, Essendon Airport, Whadya Want, Chocolate Grinders, the Dave & Phil Duo and other projects.

David Chesworth Layer On Layer Track Listing:

1. Thoughtful Food
2. Who's Asking?
3. Music Speaks
4. The Bits That Move Together
5. Power
6. When The Beats Meet
7. Finding Out
8. The Unstated Weight
9. Shiting Out Funk
10. Rite Is Rite
11. No Voices

We Also Recommend