We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
David Gilmour - About Face Remastered CD - direct audio

David Gilmour - About Face Remastered CD

Sony Music

  • $ 898

David Gilmour About Face Remastered CD

Digitally remastered reissue of the second solo album by the Pink Floyd guitarist/vocalist, originally released in 1984. Features musical assistance from Jeff Porcoro, Pino Palladino, Anne Dudley, Steve Winwood, Ray Cooper, Roy Harper, Luis Jardim and Michael Kamen. 10 tracks including the hit single 'Blue Light' plus 'Love on the Air' and 'All Lovers Are Deranged', both co-written by the Who's Pete Townshend.

David Gilmour released his second solo venture in 1984, following the apparent dissolution of Pink Floyd. He had released a record on his own in 1978, but About Face is much more accessible. Gilmour has a stellar band backing him, including Jeff Porcaro (drums), Pino Palladino (bass), and Anne Dudley (synthesizer). The songs on About Face show a pop sensibility that Pink Floyd rarely was concerned with achieving.

Although the album didn't attract the attention of a Floyd release, several cuts did manage to get airplay. "Until We Sleep" is rife with shimmering synthesizers and cavernous drums, and "Blue Light" was a minor pop hit, with Gilmour's trademark delay-drenched guitar giving way to a driving, horn-laced rocker. Pete Townshend wrote two of the tracks: "Love on the Air" and the propulsive "All Lovers Are Deranged."

Of course, there's more than enough of Gilmour's fluid guitar playing to satisfy, including the gorgeous "Murder," a gentle acoustic track that explodes with some fiery organ by Steve Winwood and concludes with a fierce coda. About Face is well-honed rock album that is riveting from beginning to end.

David Gilmour About Face Track Listing:

1. Until We Sleep
2. Murder
3. Love on the Air
4. Blue Light"
5. Out of the Blue
6. All Lovers Are Deranged
7. You Know I'm Right
8. Cruise
9. Let's Get Metaphysical
10. Near the End

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

We Also Recommend