We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
David Ramirez - My Love Is a Hurricane Vinyl LP - direct audio

David Ramirez - My Love Is a Hurricane Vinyl LP

Sweetworld Records

  • $ 1898

David Ramirez My Love Is a Hurricane Vinyl LP

Austin, TX-based artist David Ramirez's new album My Love is a Hurricane is an ode to love from an exhausted heart. Written as a transformative relationship began ripping apart at the seams, the lyrics and storytelling of the once heart-broken and cynical singer/songwriter sit upon dreamy, psychedelic landscapes that evoke genre-melding contemporaries from Michael Kiwanuka to Grizzly Bear. In facing his pain and self-doubt head on, Ramirez turned My Love is a Hurricane into a story of potential, survival, hope, and encouragement.

For the introspective 10-song set, Ramirez teamed up with Dallas producer Jason Burt – who recently collaborated with Leon Bridges and John Mayer on their new single "Inside Friend" and has worked with artists such as Sarah Jaffe and Paul Cauthen as well – to layer his widely acclaimed vocals atop "misty psychedelic undertones and potent gospel arrangements" (NPR Music). Originally meant to be a collection of love songs dedicated to Ramirez's partner, the resulting set instead charts the tumultuous journey of falling in and out of love through piano ballads, moody synths, and heavy R&B influences.

"I was reminded of a great line in the film Vanilla Sky, ‘The sweet is never as sweet without the sour.' I decided to celebrate Love," Ramirez explains. "I wasn't gonna write about how it made me feel in that moment. I was going to write about its existence and how thankful I am having known it."

David Ramirez My Love Is a Hurricane Track Listing:

1. Lover, Will You Lead Me?
2. Hell (feat. Sir Woman)
3. I Wanna Live in Your Bedroom
4. My Love is a Hurricane
5. Hallelujah, Love is Real!
6. Heaven
7. Shine on Me
8. Easy Does It
9. Coast to Coast
10. Prevail!

We Also Recommend