Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
David Roth - More Pearls 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

David Roth - More Pearls 180g Vinyl LP

Stockfisch Records

  • $ 3998

David Roth More Pearls 180g Vinyl LP

David Roth covers covers of folk classics and great writers including "Song For You Far Away" (James Taylor), "I Will" (Lennon/McCartney), "Blowin´ In The Wind" (Bob Dylan), "You've Got A Friend" (Carole King) and 'more pearls'.

The beautiful arrangements are vitalized by some well-known Stockfisch studio musicians. Among others: Chris Jones (guitars), Fiona Simpson and Roger Nicholls (backing vocals), Hans-Jörg Maucksch (fretless bass) as well as multi instrumentalists Siard de Jong and Beo Brockhause.

More pearls "came out of a casual conversation Günter and I had in early 2005. We were on another subject when he asked if I’d ever considered making a collection of songs by other songwriters (“evergreens”, he called them). Truth is I’d been thinking about it for years but had never really honed in on such a project...until that moment. “Let me choose some songs” I replied, “and tell me what you think of the list.” A few short weeks later I was back in Northeim at Stockfisch with Chris Jones."

"As I thought about what it was with these particular songs and writers that drew me near, I was also reminded where I’d first heard each one and how they’d made their mark in my psyche and helped guide me down this path. All are joined with a thread that weaves compassion, empathy, longing, freedom, justice, wonder, reflection, peace, and humility. Though it’s been years since I’ve played some, like cherished old friends they’ve been exhilarating to revisit, relearn, rediscover, and gain new insight from." - David Roth

So Günter Pauler recorded David Roth performing a collection of famous and not that famous "evergreens" of the anglo-American songwriting: "Song For You Far Away" (James Taylor), "I Will" (Lennon/McCartney), "Blowin´ In The Wind" (Bob Dylan), "Streets Of London" (Ralph McTell), "American Tune" (Paul Simon), "You've Got A Friend" (Carole King) and 8 other pearls.


David Roth - vocals, guitar
Chris Jones - guitars
Hans-Jörg Maucksch - fretless bass
Siard de Jong - mandolin, mandola, waldzither, electric sitar guitar, fiddle
Christian Struck - cor anglais
Fiona Simpson - backing vocals
Roger Nicholls - backing vocals
Beo Brockhausen - saxophones, tin whistle, low whistle, bagpipes, accordion, kantele, hurdy-gurdy, swarmandal, sitar, sarod, glockenspiel, udu, percussion
Chamber Choir of St.Sixti´s Church, Northeim

David Roth More Pearls Track Listing:

1. Song For You Far Away
2. Don Quixote
3. American Tune
4. I Will
5. Blowing In the Wind
6. Song For Adam
7. Would You Like To Learn To Dance?
8. Last Thing On My Mind
9. The Dutchman
10. The Great Mandala (The Wheel of Life)
11. Streets of London
12. When I'm Gone
13. You've Got A Friend
14. Where Have All the Flowers Gone?

We Also Recommend