Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Dead Can Dance - The Serpent's Egg Vinyl LP - direct audio

Dead Can Dance - The Serpent's Egg Vinyl LP

4AD Records

  • $ 2198

Dead Can Dance The Serpent's Egg Vinyl LP

Dead Can Dance’s fourth album, The Serpent’s Egg (1988), came during a prolific period for the band, being released just four years after their debut. It was also the first they made at their own studio which, according to Brendan Perry, allowed them to continue to grow in their own self-proclaimed direction. A minimal yet rather grandiose record which includes fan favorites “The Host Of Seraphim” and “Ullyses”, The Serpent’s Egg is a triumph and perhaps the finest example of where Brendan and Lisa’s diametrically different influences were overcome to form a new, almost synaesthetic whole.

Formed in Australia in the early '80s by Lisa Gerrard and Brendan Perry, Dead Can Dance had veered away from the punk explosion towards a more non-conformist style. But finding the music scene unreceptive they moved to London, landed a record deal with 4AD and embarked on a career with the label that would last seventeen years.

Highly respected artists with a loyal global fanbase, Gerrard and Perry consistently made music full of integrity and passion. Both immensely talented vocalists - Gerrard with her inimitable, mesmeric style and Perry’s haunting baritone - they were also gifted, instinctive musicians and their melding of traditional instruments with samplers created a bridge between ancient and modern music.

Dead Can Dance The Serpent's Egg Track Listing:

1. The Host of Seraphim
2. Orbis De Ignis
3. Severance
4. The Writing On My Father's Hand
5. In the Kingdom of The Blind the One-Eyed Are Kings
6. Chant of The Paladin
7. Song of Sophia
8. Echolalia
9. Mother Tongue
10. Ullyses

We Also Recommend