We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Dee White - Southern Gentleman Vinyl LP - direct audio

Dee White - Southern Gentleman Vinyl LP

Warner Bros.

  • $ 1798

Dee White Southern Gentleman Vinyl LP

Twenty-year old Alabama native and country music newcomer, Dee White releases his debut album, Southern Gentleman via Dan Auerbach's label, Easy Eye Sound, and Warner Music Nashville. Making classic-minded country music for the modern world, NPR says White "is up to something very different than most others in the swelling ranks of young artists with vintage country tastes" and says the album has a "finesse and a distinctly introspective angle on masculinity, and he applies those qualities in such an exhilarating way that his music is likely to sneak up on listeners and make a lasting impact."

Southern Gentleman features performances by Alison Krauss, Ashley McBryde, and Dan Auerbach, who co-produced the album alongside David "Fergie" Ferguson. Said Auerbach about working with White: "When Harold Shedd brought Dee to the studio, I knew he must be the real thing. And when he started to sing, what came out was the most original voice I've heard in years." On the record White is also backed by legendary session players Gene Chrisman and Bobby Wood of the Memphis Boys (percussion and keys), guitarist Billy Sanford, keyboard player Pig Robbins, Mickey Raphael (harmonica) and others.

On an album filled with all-star musicians, however, it's Dee White who shines the brightest, filling Southern Gentleman with a mix of youthful energy, rich lyrical metaphors – particularly "Rose of Alabama," a cheating song dressed up as an achingly gorgeous ballad – and swooning melodies. Stripped free of pitch correction and studio trickery, Southern Gentleman is an honest portrayal of a 20 year-old natural. White's songs are classics-in-the-making, inspired by traditional sounds but happily rooted in the 21st century. This isn't a throwback record. Instead, it's a contemporary, ageless album – one that packs just as strong a punch today as it would've 50 years ago.

Dee White Southern Gentleman Track Listing:

1. Wherever You Go
2. Rose Of Alabam
3. Bucket of Bolts
4. Crazy Man
5. Tell the World I Do
6. Ol' Muddy River
7. Road That Goes Both Ways
8. Way Down
9. Oh No
10. Under Your Skin

We Also Recommend