Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Depeche Mode - Sounds Of The Universe Import 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Depeche Mode - Sounds Of The Universe Import 180g Vinyl 2LP

Sony Records

  • $ 3998

Depeche Mode Sounds Of The Universe Import 180g Vinyl 2LP

2009's Sounds of the Universe served as groundbreaking, chart-topping electro legends Depeche Mode's long awaited twelfth studio album and follow-up to 2005's Playing the Angel. Eclectic and energized, the release was their most dazzling and diverse album in decades. Recorded in Santa Barbara and New York, Depeche Mode returned to using a lot of vintage gear here, from analogue synthesizers to drum machines, in order to conjure up the retro-futuristic arrangements featured on the album. Lyrically the release contains many of the group’s enduring obsessions plus more overt black humor than any of their previous collections.

Like with its 2005 predecessor, Sounds Of The Universe features writing credits for both Martin Gore, the group’s primary songwriter, and Dave Gahan, who after honing his talents on two solo albums, earned his place as Depeche Mode’s second writer. The release also marks a reunion between the band and producer Ben Hillier (Blur, Doves, Elbow), who worked with band to help give the album its timeless sound.

First single, “Wrong,” grabs the listener’s attention from its first stack-heeled, staccato shriek. Over stomping beats, screeching synthesizers, and Dave’s overlord chant, “Wrong” is yet another Depeche Mode classic. Other standout tracks include Martin’s velvet-lined Scott Walker croon on the sensual lounge-music ballad “Jezebel,” to the sci-fi gospel-blues hymn “In Chains” and “Hole To Feed,” which marries modern electronics to a floor-shaking, bone-rattling Bo Diddley beat.

As one of the most influential bands of the post-punk era, with global sales in excess of 100 million, Depeche Mode belongs to a select premiere league of super groups who have survived from the early 1980s with their ideals, creative vision and core members intact. Formed in 1981, Depeche Mode - Martin Gore, Dave Gahan and Andy 'Fletch' Fletcher - continue to win critical and commercial acclaim across the world both in the studio and on the road.

Depeche Mode Sounds Of The Universe Track Listing:


1. In Chains
2. Hole to Feed
3. Wrong
4. Fragile Tension
5. Little Soul
6. In Sympathy


1. Peace
2. Come Back
3. Spacewalker
4. Perfect
5. Miles Away/The Truth Is
6. Jezebel
7. Corrupt

We Also Recommend