We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Dervish The Great Irish Songbook - Various Artist Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Dervish The Great Irish Songbook - Various Artist Vinyl 2LP

Rounder Records

  • $ 2998

Dervish The Great Irish Songbook Various Artist Vinyl 2LP

With Guest Vocalists Vince Gill, Steve Earle, Rhiannon Giddens, David Gray, Imelda May & More!

An album of 13 of the best-loved songs in the Irish tradition performed by Irish music legends Dervish and featuring a stellar line-up of friends.

As one of the world’s most renowned and imaginative interpreters of Irish folk music, Dervish have devoted the last three decades to gently reinventing the traditional songs of their homeland. On their debut release for Rounder Records, the Sligo-based band join up with over a dozen luminaries across an eclectic range of genres.

Featuring guests Steve Earle, Rhiannon Giddens, Vince Gill, Brendan Gleeson, Jamey Johnson, Kate Rusby, The SteelDrivers, Abigail Washburn, and others, The Great Irish Songbook both preserves the spirit of each song and brings a new vitality to iconic traditional songs of their homeland.

Throughout The Great Irish Songbook, Dervish build off the dynamic they’ve brought to their 13 previous albums and dazzling live performance: a kinetic union of technical brilliance and undeniable soul, endlessly fortified by their immense creativity. With the help of their guest artists, Dervish’s intricately sculpted sound expands and widens and takes on new textures, revealing the limitless possibilities within a single song. The result is an album that instantly transports you to a more charmed state of mind and - like all the most illuminating journeys - imparts a deeper understanding of what’s most essential in life.

Produced by Graham Henderson (a musician known for his work with artists like Sinéad O’Connor), The Great Irish Songbook delivers some of the best-loved songs in the Irish tradition. In assembling their lineup of featured guests, Dervish reached out to the many artists with whom they’ve bonded over a shared passion for Irish folk, then called on each musician to select their most cherished song within the genre. Recorded mainly at The Magic Room in Sligo, the finished product finds each collaborator imbuing the album with their own distinct sensibilities while lovingly upholding the time-honored character of the songs.

The Great Irish Songbook encompasses everything from lovelorn ballads to traditional dance music to songs customarily sung at funerals, its moods continually shifting from longing to joy to delicately rendered heartache.

Dervish The Great Irish Songbook Various Artist Track Listing:


1. The Rambling Irishman (featuring Cathy Jordan)
2. There's Whiskey In The Jar (featuring The SteelDrivers)
3. Molly Malone (featuring Imelda May)
4. The Galway Shawl (featuring Steve Earle)
5. She Moved Through The Fair (featuring Andrea Corr)
6. The Rocky Road To Dublin (featuring Brendan Gleeson)
7. Down By The Sally Gardens (featuring Kate Rusby)


1. On Raglan Road (featuring Vince Gill)
2. Donal Og (featuring Cathy Jordan)
3. The Fields Of Athenry (featuring Jamey Johnson)
4. The May Morning Dew (featuring Rhiannon Giddens)
5. The West Coast Of Clare (featuring David Gray)
6. The Parting Glass (featuring Abigail Washburn)

We Also Recommend