Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Diana Krall - Glad Rag Doll Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Diana Krall - Glad Rag Doll Vinyl 2LP

Verve Records

  • $ 3498

Diana Krall Glad Rag Doll Vinyl 2LP

Audiophile-Ready: Recorded on Analog Tape, Produced by T Bone Burnett, and Engineered by Mike Piersante

Singer/Pianist Interprets Classics from Multiple Decades, Resonates With Vaudeville Accent

Krall Labels New 2012 Set a "Song and Dance Record," Pairs With a Crack Band That Includes Marc Ribot and Jay Bellerose

Diana Krall's extraordinary new album, Glad Rag Doll, is an exhilarating and adventurous exploration of new sounds, new instrumentation and new musicians. It stars a singer and piano player who is filled with mischief, humour, and a renewed sense of tenderness and intimacy. The record reveals itself at that remarkable vanishing point in time where swinging, rocking music collides with songs of longing, solace, and regret. All are made new again in a vaudeville of Krall's own imagining. It is at once a major departure and a natural progression for the gifted musician. Diana simply calls the album, "a song and dance record."

"We all just went in there as if the songs were written yesterday. I didn't want to make a period piece or nostalgia record," said Krall. In fact, these are songs that Krall has spent a lifetime contemplating. Both her childhood home and her current address are stacked with 78RPM records and song folios filled with precious and unpolished gems, songs that have not worn out their lustre from repetition.

If any of these songs could be identified as "20s or 30s music," then they are 20's or 30's songs as imagined for the 21st Century. The same could be said for a startling rendition of the Doc Pomus classic, "Lonely Avenue," first cut in the 1950s. The contemplative, contemporary reading of the old Gene Austin recording of "Let It Rain" finds a sympathetic echo in Krall's exquisite rendition of Buddy and Julie Miller's more recent ballad of spiritual longing, "Wide River To Cross."

Working for the first time with renowned producer T Bone Burnett and engineer Mike Piersante, Krall revels in a fresh sonic playground captured in the vivid grain and deep resonant focus of analog tape. Burnett has assembled a distinguished cast of remarkable men to complement Krall's piano contribution at an 1890s Steinway upright. From the hushed to the howling, Marc Ribot's poised and sympathetic solo guitar accompaniment on the title track contrasts beautifully with a range of surprising sounds and colors.

As ever with a Diana Krall record, her distinctive feel and unique sense of time is crucial. She has established a new and exciting rhythmic rapport with drummer Jay Bellerose and bassist Dennis Crouch that has let loose some of her most joyous piano playing heard on record to date. Among the new elements brought into the spontaneous arrangement process are the mysterious, sometimes comedic commentaries coming from the keyboards of Keefus Green.


- Marc Ribot (Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, 6 String Bass and Banjo),
- T Bone Burnett (Guitars),
- Howard Coward (Ukulele, Mandola, Tenor Guitar, Harmony Vocals),
- Jay Bellerose (Drums),
- Dennis Crouch (Bass),
- Bryan Sutton (Guitars),
- Colin Linden (Guitars, Dobro)
- Keefus Green (Keyboards, Mellotron).

Diana Krall Glad Rag Doll Track Listing:

1. We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye (Woods)
2. There Ain't No Sweet Man That's Worth the Salt of My Tears (Fisher)
3. Just Like a Butterfly That's Caught in the Rain (Dixon/Woods)
4. You Know - I Know Ev'rything's Made for Love (Sherman/Tobias/Johnson)
5. Glad Rag Doll (Ager/Dougherty/Yellen)
6. I'm A Little Mixed Up (James/Johnson)
7. Prairie Lullaby (Hill)
8. Here Lies Love (Rainger/Robin)
9. I Used to Love You But It's All Over Now (von Tilzer/Brown)
10. Let it Rain (Kendis/Dyson)
11. Lonely Avenue (Pomus)
12. Wide River to Cross (Miller/Miller)
13. When the Curtain Comes Down (Hoefle/Lewis/Sherman)

We Also Recommend