Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Dinosaur Jr. - Where You Been Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) - direct audio

Dinosaur Jr. - Where You Been Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock)

Rhino Records

  • $ 2298

Dinosaur Jr. Where You Been Vinyl LP

Fronted by singer/songwriter/guitarist J Mascis, Dinosaur Jr. originally formed in Amherst, Massachusetts in 1984. Their emergence was a musical shot heard round the world as Mascis and company put the heroics of lead guitar back into the forefront of the indie rock realm - amazingly, it was a revolutionary idea at the time.

Post-punk and pre-grunge, they were an intense force to be reckoned with, and when the band signed to Sire in ’91, Mascis’ shreddingly unique alt-rock sound was cranked up for vast new audiences of eardrums. Their first album for a major label after great success on U.S. independent labels Homestead and SST, Green Mind was issued in 1991 and was the band's first since the departure of bassist Lou Barlow. The record is close to being a J Mascis solo album, with drummer Murph only appearing on three tracks.

It's 1993 follow-up Where You Been was the only Dinosaur Jr. album between 1988’s Bug and 2007’s Beyond to be recorded entirely with a full band. During Dino's major label year, Mascis performed most of the instruments himself. The album leads off with the yearning, burning classic “Out There,” which is highlighted by an on-fire guitar solo from Mascis and features the single "Start Choppin," the band's biggest hit, reaching No. 3 on the Rock Charts in the U.S. and the Top 20 on the U.K. Singles Chart.

There was something unabashedly classic about Where You Been’s rock. Released at the height of ‘grunge’, it cleverly avoided any Nirvana-esque crossover, not least from Mascis’ copious guitar heroics, layering multiple tracks of scree and howl so the entire album feels like one epic, sky-scraping solo. With his fondness for extended guitar play, his country-soaked rock crunch, his cracked and sweet vocals, the album identified Mascis as hewn from the same stone as Neil Young before him.

Dinosaur Jr. Where You Been Track Listing:

1. Out There
2. Start Choppin
3. What Else Is New
4. On The Way
5. Not The Same
6. Get Me
7. Drawerings
8. Hide
9. Goin Home
10. I Ain't Sayin

We Also Recommend