Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms 180g Vinyl 2LP

Rhino Records

  • $ 3498

Dire Straits Brothers In Arms 180g Vinyl 2LP

Propelled by Mark Knopfler's literate songs, gruff vocals, and spidery guitar work, Dire Straits had overcome initial skepticism for their resistance to '70s new wave accents in favor of their rootsy traditionalism. This 1985 album captures the band consolidating a far more epic style than the concise shuffles and ballads that the original scrappy quartet had reeled off, their ambitions fueled by the larger canvas afforded by the compact disc.One of the first albums to exploit the format's longer playing time, Brothers in Arms was initially released in separate versions for CD/cassette and edited LP, and the band became digital poster boys on a world tour sponsored by CD hardware interests.

Critics that had once warmed to the band sniffed at the marketing, but the album remains their best known, noteworthy for the MTV staple 'Money for Nothing' and the breezy rock shuffle 'Walk of Life,' as well as for the wistful 'So Far Away,' the plot-driven narratives of 'Ride Across the River,' and the title song of course.

The album is an amazing mix of styles and moods, but produced without a fault all the way through. This was the showpiece album for this group of hard working musicians, and proved Mark Knopfler one of the worlds greatest guitarists. Our highest recommendation!

Dire Straits  Brothers In Arms Track Listing:

1. So Far Away
2. Money For Nothing
3. Walk of Life
4. Your Latest Trick
5. Why Worry
6. Ride Across The River
7. The Man's Too Strong
8. One World
9. Brothers In Arms

We Also Recommend