Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Dirty Heads - Cabin By The Sea Vinyl LP + Download - direct audio

Dirty Heads - Cabin By The Sea Vinyl LP + Download

Five Seven Records

  • $ 1898

The Dirty Heads Cabin By The Sea Vinyl LP + Download

Formed in 2003 out of Huntington Beach, CA, The Dirty Heads combine an intriguing mix of hip-hop, reggae and alternative rock with a sunny California swagger. 2012's Cabin By The Sea is a culmination of years of hard work and endless touring, and a chance to refine and improve on their breakthrough, 2008’s Any Port in the Storm.

That’s not an easy act to follow – their debut album featured one of the decade’s biggest rock singles, “Lay Me Down” (which spent eleven weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard Alternative Chart, a record for an independent release and more than any single that year by anyone, including The Black Keys, Kings of Leon and 30 Seconds to Mars) and a shout-out in Rolling Stone as one of year’s best new bands.

But the Dirty Heads knew better things lay ahead. “Last time was our first time in the studio, working with a producer,” says Jared “Dirty J” Watson. “This time out, we nailed it. We trimmed the fat and got the sound we were always going for.”

While Port contained an expanded roster of guest stars, from M. Shadows to Billy Preston (best known for his work with the Beatles), Cabin keeps the guest list tight. Still, a few A-level names make an appearance, including a return engagement from Rome (from Sublime with Rome), Del the Funky Homosapien, Ky-Mani Marley and Hasidic hip-hop star Matisyahu.

“He’s awesome. We got to know him years ago on tour,” says Dustin “Duddy B” Bushnell. “We had built this great relationship, so we asked him to guest on a track. He came down to the studio and knocked it out of the park.”

Cabin By The Sea maintains the diversity from their first album, roaming from sunny acoustic pop ("Cabin By The Sea") to hip-hop with mariachi horns ("Disguise") and feel-good reggae ("Day By Day," "Your Love"). The album's defining trait? An insistence on positivity and good vibes, a philosophy summed up nicely by the single, "Spread Too Thin."

The Dirty Heads Cabin By The Sea Track Listing:

1. Arrival
2. Cabin By The Sea
3. Disguise
4. Spread Too Thin
5. Your Love ft. Kymani Marley
6. Mono Push ft. Rome
7. Dance All Night ft. Matisyahu
8. Hipster
9. Notice
10. Day By Day
11. Smoke Rings ft. Del The Funky Homosapien
12. Burn By Myself
13. We Will Rise
14. Best Of Us
15. Love Letters
16. Farewell

We Also Recommend