Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Donny Hathaway - The Best Of Donny Hathaway 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Donny Hathaway - The Best Of Donny Hathaway 180g Vinyl LP

Friday Music Records

  • $ 3398

Donny Hathaway The Best Of Donny Hathaway 180g Vinyl LP

Colored 180g vinyl LP reissue from Friday Music, mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios and Capitol Mastering in Hollywood, CA.

Donny Hathaway will forever be known as one of the leading voices of the 70’s soul renaissance and truly one of the more championed songwriters during his short lifetime. Much like Ray Charles, Otis Redding, and other superstars before him, Donny had the necessary ingredients of a stellar voice/musicianship and songwriting acumen which successfully reached across all gospel, soul, rock and pop genres.

Hathaway created some of the greatest soul sides ever layed to wax for the ATCO label, who awarded him with his first greatest hits collection, The Best of Donny Hathaway in 1978. The 9-song set offers a stunning array of Hathaway's memorable hit singles and album staples, most of which feature the likes of Joel Dorn, Billy Cobham, Arif Mardin, Jerry Wexler, Eric Gale, Bernard Purdie, King Curtis, Doc Gibbs and Cornell Dupree.

The Best of Donny Hathaway is comprised of a heavy menu of his finest moments like the funk infused "The Ghetto," the definitive balladry of Leon Russell’s "A Song For You," and of course his chart topping duet with Roberta Flack "Where Is The Love." Even more classics abound with Donny's last chart topping R&B ballad "You Were Meant For Me," standard holiday gem "This Christmas," and milestone song "Someday We’ll All Be Free."

Donny Hathaway The Best Of Donny Hathaway Track Listing:

1. You Were Meant For Me
2. A Song For You
3. You've Got A Friend
4. Someday We'll All Be Free
5. Giving Up
6. Where Is The Love
7. The Ghetto
8. Valdez In The Country
9. This Christmas

We Also Recommend