Cart 0
Duke Ellington And Johnny Hodges - Side By Side on 200g 45RPM 2LP - direct audio

Duke Ellington And Johnny Hodges - Side By Side on 200g 45RPM 2LP

Analogue Productions

  • $ 5499

Duke Ellington And Johnny Hodges Side By Side on 200g 45RPM 2LP from Analogue Productions

Cut from the Original Master Tapes by George Marino at Sterling Sound

When Norman Granz signed Johnny Hodges to a recording contract in 1951, it was a prelude to Hodges' leaving the Duke Ellington orchestra to lead his own small band. Four years later Hodges was back in the Ellington fold, but he also continued to record for Granz under his own name.

Side By Side, recorded in 1958 and 1959, is a throwback to the small-group sessions Ellington recorded with Hodges and other members of his orchestra in the '30s, but with a couple of important differences: the absence of Ellington himself on several cuts (with Billy Strayhorn taking over on piano), and the presence of such notable non-Ellingtonians as drummer Jo Jones and trumpeters Roy Eldridge and Harry "Sweets" Edison.

"The music is the precursor to bop - swing with some masterful soloing, the pop music of its day - and there is a jam-session looseness to the entire recording, giving the musicians the room to stretch and frolic. Of course, Ellington plays piano on a few numbers, offering an interesting contrast to Strayhorn, who is less fiery and draws out his phrasing more. Most of the numbers were written by Ellington or Hodges, "Stompy Jones" and "You Need to Rock" setting a brisk pace at the beginning and end of the recording." - Marc Mickelson, theaudiobeat

"...these are all truly classic Verve titles that you simply don't want to miss...most importantly, the sound of these reissues is nothing short of owe yourself at least a half dozen!" - Winner of a 2012 Positive Feedback Online Writers' Choice Award - Danny Kaey, Positive Feedback Online, November/December 2011


- Duke Ellington (piano)
- Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone)
- Lawrence Brown (trombone)
- Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet)
- Roy Eldridge (trumpet)
- Al Hall (bass)
- Jo Jones (drums)
- Wendell Marshall (bass)
- Les Spann (flute, guitar)
- Billy Strayhorn (piano)
- Ben Webster (tenor saxophone)

Duke Ellington And Johnny Hodges Side By Side Track Listing:

1. Stompy Jones
2. Just Squeeze Me
3. Big Shoe
4. Going Up
5. Just a Memory
6. Let's Fall in Love
7. Ruint
8. Bend One
9. You Need to Rock

We Also Recommend