Cart 0
Duke Ellington - The Great Paris Concert on 180g Import 2LP - direct audio

Duke Ellington - The Great Paris Concert on 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Pure Pleasure Records

  • $ 4998

Duke Ellington The Great Paris Concert on 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Remastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering

"This set came about, in part, as a result of Ellington's signing to Frank Sinatra's Reprise label in November 1962, with the ending of his exclusive contract to Columbia. Six numbers from the three Paris dates were initially edited and released by Reprise as part of the ten-song Duke Ellington's Greatest Hits, but the bulk of the performances from those shows didn't surface until many years later as The Great Paris Concert on two LPs.

"...The Great Paris Concert is raw and largely unedited, and depicts the full Ellington band in extraordinary form, oozing excitement - from the saxophone showcase on the opener, "Rockin' In Rhythm," the various sections of the band take flight at different points throughout this set, which includes such contemporary numbers as Ellington's theme music for an all but forgotten television series, "The Asphalt Jungle", and excerpts from "Such Sweet Thunder."

"Johnny Hodges is showcased in several solos, most notably on "Suite Thursday", a work whose original studio incarnation he missed appearing on; Cootie Williams ("Tutti for Cootie"), Paul Gonsalves ("Cop Out"), Ray Nance ("Bula"), and Cat Anderson ("Jam with Sam") get their own moments in the spotlight." - Pure Pleasure / Bruce Eder, All Music


Duke Ellington, piano
Milt Grayson, vocals
Cat Anderson / Cootie Williams, trumpet
Roy Burrowes / Lawrence Brown / Buster Cooper, trombone
Paul Gonsalves / Johnny Hodges, saxophone
Jimmy Hamilton, clarinet, saxophone
Ernie Shephard, bass
Sam Woodyard, drums

Duke Ellington The Great Paris Concert Track Listing:


1. Kinda Dukish/Rockin' In Rhythm
2. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
3. The Star-Crossed Lovers
4. All Of Me
5. Theme From Asphalt Jungle
6. Concerto For Cootie
7. Tutti For Cootie
8. Suite Thursday In Four Movements: Misfit Blues/Schwiphti/Zweet Zurzday/Lay-By


1. Perdido
2. The Eighth Veil
3. Rose Of The Rio
4. Cop Out
5. Bula
6. Jam With Sam
7. Happy-Go-Lucky Local
8. Tone Parallel To Harlem

We Also Recommend