Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Emmy The Great - Second Love Vinyl LP - direct audio

Emmy The Great - Second Love Vinyl LP

Bella Union Records

  • $ 1898

Emmy The Great Second Love Vinyl LP

Emmy The Great presents her highly anticipated third album Second Love on Bella Union. There is a distinct nod to her debut First Love, in terms of the storytelling that first impressed her lyrical and emotional dexterity upon so many. But on Second Love, Emma-Lee Moss delves into the chambers of a human heart ever-connected to the glare of a nearby screen. This is an album imbued with modern sounds, a nod to new eras, while maintaining the human warmth always associated with an ETG album.

The songs are full of emotion and questioning, with the chatter of friends and collaborators ‘coded' into the sonic landscape. Opener "Swimming Pool" – taken from this year's critically acclaimed S EP – sets the tone. Sketched out in Asian cities during a tour, and competed in a North London studio in the summer of 2012, its undulating grace became a sound Emma spent "three years trying to chase." These tender, glacial arrangements lead Second Love's exploration through a new world, filtered through technology.

Like "Dance with Me," a somber and sensitive ode to the complexities of love – "You can't exist without fighting me. Oh, I respect my enemy," Emmy sings, backed by the sampled voices of her LA housemates, while producer Dave McCracken, and musician friends Beth Jeans Houghton and O Karmina talk in the background. Acoustic guitars step into harmonies like dappled sunlight on "Algorithm," distant sirens flicker and synthesizers echo as we fall into love-struck bio-mechanic balladry. Elsewhere, the sadness swept through "Constantly" bubbles with minimal grace before gliding into a crystalline chorus, as bright as the laptop screen that lights a depressed friend's eyes.

The roll call of talent enlisted to assist Emmy The Great's new album is as impressive as the vision itself. Produced by McCracken (Oh Land/ Beyonce) and Ludwig Goransson (Haim, Childish Gambino), and mixed by Neil Comber (MIA), the album features musicians from far and wide, including Tom Fleming (Wild Beasts), Leo Abrahams (Pulp, Brian Eno), Simon Oscroft (MXTHER), Henry Kwapis, O Karmina, Du Blonde (aka Beth Jeans Houghton), Nick Trepka (Speech Debelle), Fyfe Dangerfield (Guillemots), Gabriel Bruce, and her brother Robin Moss, with writer and broadcaster Jon Ronson authoring the album's liner notes.

Emmy The Great Second Love Track Listing:

1. Swimming Pool (feat. Tom Fleming)
2. Less Than Three
3. Algorithm
4. Hyperlink
5. Constantly
6. Social Halo
7. Never Go Home
8. Dance with Me
9. Phoenixes
10. Shadowlawns
11. Part of Me
12. Lost in You

We Also Recommend