Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl Colored Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl Colored Vinyl 2LP

Nonesuch Records

  • $ 2998

Emmylou Harris Red Dirt Girl Colored Vinyl 2LP

Reissue of Harris's Grammy Award-Winning 2000 Nonesuch Debut featuring Buddy Miller, Ethan Johns, Bruce Springsteen, Dave Matthews & Patty Griffin!

Emmylou Harris's first Nonesuch recording, Red Dirt Girl, was originally released in September 2000, and won the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album that year. It was her first solo studio recording since 1995's acclaimed Wrecking Ball.

The album was produced by Malcolm Burn, who previously worked with Harris engineering and mixing Wrecking Ball, and features Buddy Miller on lead guitar; Daryl Johnson on bass and drums; Burn on piano, guitar, and bass; and Ethan Johns on drums, guitar, and other miscellaneous instruments. Harris wrote all but one of Red Dirt Girl's 12 tracks, marking only the second time in her career that she has been so involved in the composition of an album. Dave Matthews sings a duet with Harris on the album, and Bruce Springsteen, Patti Scialfa, and Patty Griffin also contribute vocals.

Commenting on her then new label and record, Harris says, "I take pride in my new association with Nonesuch, a label for whom I have great admiration. Red Dirt Girl is a very meaningful record for me. I've only written this much for an album once before – The Ballad of Sally Rose – and I'm very pleased as well with what we have accomplished in the studio."

Emmylou Harris Red Dirt Girl Track Listing:

1. The Pearl
2. Michelangelo
3. I Don't Wanna Talk About It Now
4. Tragedy
5. Red Dirt Girl
6. My Baby Needs a Shepherd
7. Bang the Drum Slowly
8. J'ai fait tout
9. One Big Love
10. Hour of Gold
11. My Antonia
12. Boy From Tupelo

We Also Recommend