Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Empire Of The Sun - Ice On The Dune on LP - direct audio

Empire Of The Sun - Ice On The Dune on LP

Astralwerks Records

  • $ 2498

Empire Of The Sun Ice On The Dune on LP

Exotic, gaudy and lavish, Empire Of The Sun brings together two unlikely collaborators from Australian pop. Luke Steele, the enigmatic wunderkind behind The Sleepy Jackson, first met Pnau’s Nick Littlemore via a mundane hook-up instigated by the latter’s record company.

Thus began a friendship which Luke describes as “this fireball of electricity,” and which eventually resulted in Walking On A Dream – a bold, visionary and quite brilliant album, which managed to sound exhilaratingly contemporary, audaciously forward-looking, yet also curiously archaic all at once. From Nick and Luke’s collective unconscious arose a rare marriage of rock and electronica, immediacy and depth, futurism and tradition, hi-tech production and creative spontaneity, pop melody and the cinematic.

Ice On The Dune (Astralwerks) is the highly anticipated follow-up to Empire of the Sun’s 2008 BRIT-nominated, global smash Walking On A Dream. In this new installment of the Empire of the Sun saga, Emperor Steele and Lord Littlemore face an unprecedented challenge in their bid to restore peace to the world, 1000 years into the future.

“Everything about Empire of the Sun is larger than life: The band name, the futuristic stage personas, the Dune-inspired album art and – most importantly – the music,” said Rolling Stone. “[Ice On The Dune is] exactly what electronic pop should sound like in 2013. Fresh, euphoric, youthful...it more than delivers on the promise of 2008’s million-selling debut Walking On A Dream,” said Q, awarding the album four stars in a lead review.

MOJO noted, “You can’t help but be charmed by their puckish, wide-eyed enthusiasm for the redemptive power of pop.” “Nearly every track is powered by a room-rattling disco groove. But what makes ‘DNA’, ‘Alive’, ‘Concert Pitch’ and the title song so irresistible is the way their silky melodies resolve into super-saturated Technicolor chorus hooks,” observed Uncut, scoring it 8/10.

Empire Of The Sun Ice On The Dune Track Listing:

1. Lux
2. DNA
3. Alive
4. Concert Pitch
5. Ice on the Dune
6. Awakening
7. I'll Be Around
8. Old Flavours
9. Celebrate
10. Surround Sound
11. Disarm
12. Keep A Watch

We Also Recommend