Cart 0
Eric Dolphy - Outward Bound on LP - direct audio

Eric Dolphy - Outward Bound Vinyl LP

Original Jazz Records

  • $ 1998

Eric Dolphy Outward Bound Vinyl LP

Eric Dolphy had left his native California and come East as part of Chico Hamilton's group, settling in New York in 1960 and becoming part of Charles Mingus's group. This first recording as a leader brought comparisons with Ornette Coleman, but the two were really parallel figures in the then-emerging avant-garde style.

Dolphy did not eschew "changes," as Coleman did, but he used them in new ways. This LP was significant not only for his alto saxophone but introduced his individual approach to the flute and, particularly, the bass clarinet.

Eric Dolphy Outward Bound Track Listing:

1. G.W.
2. Green Dolphin Street
3. Les
4. 245
5. Glad To Be Unhappy
6. Miss Toni

We Also Recommend