We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Errol Dunkley - Darling Ooh! Colored Vinyl LP - direct audio

Errol Dunkley - Darling Ooh! Colored Vinyl LP

Real Gone Records

  • $ 2498

Errol Dunkley Darling Ooh! Colored Vinyl LP

Errol Dunkley was an early reggae star and one of the youngest, recording his first side ("My Queen") at the age of 12 for Prince Buster in 1964 and scoring his first hit ("You're Gonna Need Me") in 1967. Later, he became a key performer in the ‘70s Brit-reggae scene, just missing the Top Ten in 1978 with his remake of John Holt's "OK Fred."

Helmed by groundbreaking female producer Sylvia Pottenger, Darling Ooh! is actually his 1972 debut album, but like a lot of records that came out on small Jamaican imprints that later got swallowed into the mammoth Trojan label, its history is complicated; this record came out on the Gay Feet label under the title Presenting Errol Dunkley and also on the Trojan imprint Attack the same year as Darling Ooh! with different art and an expanded track listing (and, just to make things more confusing, a 1979 Trojan reissue had the Gay Feet track listing and the Attack artwork).

Real Gone's reissue reproduces the 1972 Attack release with its fetching cover art and expanded track listing (featuring the first appearance of the hit "A Little Way Different"). Even better, they ponied up for a new remastering (by Mike Milchner at SonicVision) so this record sounds better than it ever has! A classic roots-reggae release on colored vinyl LP.

Errol Dunkley Darling Ooh! Track Listing:

1. You Never Know
2. Movie Star
3. Created by the Father
4. A Little Way Different
5. Like to Be Boosed
6. Hilite Part 1
7. Darling Ooh!
8. Baby I Love You
9. You're Gonna Need Me
10. I'm Not the Man for You
11. It Was Nice While It Lasted
12. Hilite Part 2

We Also Recommend