Cart 0
Eva Cassidy - Somewhere on CD - direct audio

Eva Cassidy - Somewhere on CD

Blix Records

  • $ 1798

Eva Cassidy Somewhere on CD

Blix Street Records has announced the release of five seminal Eva Cassidy albums on 180g vinyl including her definitive collection, Songbird (1998), unavailable on the format for years, and equally as compelling offerings, Time After Time (2000), Imagine (2000), American Tune (2003) and Somewhere (2008), which will be available on vinyl for the very first time.

"Definitions,” wrote Los Angeles Times critic Don Heckman, “become virtually useless to describe the singing of Eva Cassidy.” The career of the gifted and acclaimed vocalist has likewise defied description and easy analysis. Her eclectic tastes – everything from folk and country to jazz, standards, blues, rock and pop - made Eva hard to pigeon-hole, and her lack of exposure beyond her native Washington, D.C. kept her profile low during her lifetime.

Somewhere is a posthumous 2008 collection of 12 previously unreleased songs recorded by Cassidy at various venues and studios between 1987 and 1996. Somewhere includes the first two songs co-written by Cassidy that have come to light, “Early One Morning” and the album’s title song. The expressive vocalist displays her definition-defying range, tackling and triumphing over material made famous by Dolly Parton, Aretha Franklin, Willie Nelson, Bobby “Blue” Bland and others.

Somewhere showcases a uniquely talented artist once again effortlessly and thoroughly inhabiting many widely diverse genres of music united by one clear voice. According to Blix Street label president Bill Straw, “Somewhere, certainly the most diverse Eva Cassidy album to date, is a vocal tour de force that could become the hallmark for one singer covering this breadth and depth of material on one album.”

Eva Cassidy Somewhere Track Listing:

1. Coat Of Many Colours
2. My Love Is Like A Red, Red Rose
3. Ain't Doin' Too Bad
4. Chain Of Fools
5. Won't Be Long
6. Walkin' After Midnight
7. Early One Morning
8. A Bold Young Farmer
9. If I Give You My Heart
10. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
11. Summertime
12. Somewhere

We Also Recommend