We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Eyvind Kang - Plainlight Vinyl LP - direct audio

Eyvind Kang - Plainlight Vinyl LP

Abduction Records

  • $ 2298

Eyvind Kang Plainlight Vinyl LP

A gorgeous set of new tracks by the brilliant composer and multi-instrumentalist Eyvind Kang featuring accompaniment from Randall Dunn and Alan Bishop. It took him a decade and a half to revisit the vibe concocted on his masterpiece from 2001, Live Low To The Earth In The Iron Age, but it was certainly well worth the wait. Plainlight features an array of spiritually intoxicating instrumentation including tamboura, electric guitar, organ, trumpet, oboe, trombone, and Korean traditional instruments.

Kang notes, "In 2002 I wanted to make a kind of sequel to my first solo record on Abduction, Live Low To The Earth In The Iron Age. I found that the 'weight' of sounds seemed to evaporate the compositions.

The last thing I wanted to make was a traditional shoegaze recording. 15 years later, I had a strange dream: a voice said 'Because a plainlight has fallen in Heaven, heartbreak would cease.' This statement then became a kind of guiding image and method. Thus, with Korean traditional instruments playing the ostinato and drone, things fell into place."

Eyvind Kang Plainlight Track Listing:

1. Plainlight
2. Bay Of Fundy
3. Sanjaya The Sceptic

We Also Recommend