Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Femi Kuti and Made Kuti - Legacy + Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Femi Kuti and Made Kuti - Legacy + Vinyl 2LP

Partisan Records

  • $ 2998

Femi Kuti and Made Kuti Legacy + Vinyl 2LP

Legendary activist and Afrobeat originator, Fela Kuti, used his music to lament social injustices and political corruption in his native Nigeria. Fela's legacy spans decades and genres, touching on jazz, pop, funk, hip-hop, rock, and beyond. While this impact can be felt in Nigeria and the entire world, it also greatly affected Fela's son Femi and his son Made, both of whom carry his legacy as torchbearers for change.

In February 2021, Partisan Records offers up two albums from Femi and Made, packaged together and appropriately titled Legacy +. Both albums are steeped in the tradition of Afrobeat invented by Fela, but each also offers their own unique vision. Femi's Stop The Hate honors Fela in a traditionally fun, sharply political, and affirming way. Meanwhile Made's For(e)ward is a modern and progressive freedom manifesto, pushing boundaries of the subgenre even further. Made also performs every instrument on his album.

Both albums also feature portraits of Femi and Made, done by Brooklyn-based artist Delphine Desane, whose work was recently featured on the cover of Vogue Italia.

Femi Kuti and Made Kuti Legacy + Track Listing:

LP1: Stop The Hate (Femi Kuti)

1. Pà Pá Pà
2. As We Struggle Everyday
3. Stop the Hate
4. Land Grab
5. Na Bigmanism Spoil Government
6. You Can't Fight Corruption With Corruption
7. Show of Shame
8. Privatisation
9. Young Boy / Young Girl
10. Set Your Minds and Souls Free

LP2: For(e)ward (Made Kuti)

1. Free Your Mind
2. Your Enemy
3. Blood
4. Different Streets
5. Higher You'll Find
6. Hymn
7. Young Lady
8. We Are Strong

We Also Recommend