Cart 0
Frank Zappa - Uncle Meat on 180g 2LP - direct audio

Frank Zappa - Uncle Meat 180g Vinyl 2LP

Zappa Music

  • $ 3498

Frank Zappa Uncle Meat 180g Vinyl 2LP

Official Release #6!

Back home where it belongs, the music of Frank Zappa is now back in the hands of the Zappa Family Trust. To celebrate this, the estate has signed a global license and distribution deal with Universal Music Enterprises to release 60 of the iconic composer's recordings. The UME deal includes the entire Zappa catalog as it appeared on Frank Zappa's own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records. Many of the original analog masters have been re-mastered for this occasion.

“The artist and composer, Frank Zappa, is one of the most important and influential artists in music history with his prolific body of work, including his breakthrough rock ‘n roll concept albums. We are honored that Gail Zappa and the Zappa Family Trust have entrusted us with his legacy. We intend to honor him and bring high quality releases, digital and physical, for his new and longtime fans,” said Bruce Resnikoff, President/CEO, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe).

1969's Uncle Meat is the sprawling fifth full-length from Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention developed for the conceptual project No Commercial Potential which also produced the albums Lumpy Gravy, We're Only It For the Money and Cruising with Ruben & the Jets. The diverse double album was initially intended as the soundtrack to a film that was never finished and it finds Zappa establishing himself as both a diverse composer and innovative producer while experimenting with unprecedented overdubbing and editing techniques. Uncle Meat also offers glimpses of the jazz-rock fusion elements Zappa would capitalize on later in his career.


Frank Zappa – producer, guitar, vocals, percussion
Ray Collins – vocals
Bill Mundi/Jimmy Carl Black – drums
Roy Estrada – bass
Don Preston – piano
Bunk Gardner – piccolo, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano sax, alto sax, tenor sax, bassoon
Ian Underwood – organ, piano, harpsichord, celeste, flute, clarinet, alto sax, baritone sax
Art Tripp – drums, timpani, vibraphone, marimba, xylophone, percussion
Euclid James Sherwood – tenor saxophone, tambourine

Frank Zappa Uncle Meat Track Listing:


1. Uncle Meat: Main Title Theme
2. The Voice Of Cheese
3. Nine Types Of Industrial Pollution
4. Zolar Czakl
5. Dog Breath, In The Year Of The Plague
6. The Legend Of The Golden Arches
7. Louie Louie (At The Royal Albert Hall In London)
8. The Dog Breath Variations
9. Sleeping In A Jar
10. Our Bizarre Relationship
11. The Uncle Meat Variations
12. Electric Aunt Jemima
13. Prelude To King Kong
14. God Bless America (Live At The Whisky A Go Go) (Berlin)
15. A Pound For A Brown On The Bus
16. Ian Underwood Whips It Out (Live On Stage In Copenhagen)


1. Mr. Green Genes
2. We Can Shoot You
3. If We'd All Been Living In California...
4. The Air
5. Project X
6. Cruising For Burgers
7. King Kong Itself (As Played By The Mothers In A Studio)
8. King Kong (Its Magnificence As Interpreted By Dom DeWild)
9. King Kong (As Motorhead Explains It)
10. King Kong (The Gardner Varieties)
11. King Kong (As Played By 3 Deranged Good Humor Trucks)
12. King Kong (Live On A Flat Bed Diesel In The Middle Of A Race Track At A Miami Pop Festival...The Underwood Ramifications)

We Also Recommend