Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Freddie Hubbard - Ready For Freddie Vinyl LP - direct audio

Freddie Hubbard - Ready For Freddie Vinyl LP

Blue Note Records

  • $ 1998

Freddie Hubbard Ready For Freddie Vinyl LP

Remastered & Reissued as Part of the Blue Note 75th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue Campaign

The jazz world was more than ready for Freddie Hubbard when the trumpeter burst upon the national scene in 1960. Clifford Brown, an early influence on Hubbard, had died tragically four years earlier. While Lee Morgan was making his mark, Hubbard's arrival gave jazz a new explosive and colorful virtuoso. His trumpet solos made him a giant within a short time.

Ready For Freddie (1961) finds Hubbard completely emerging from the pack and taking his place among the elite. The trumpeter introduces two of his finest compositions, the uptempo blues “Birdlike” and the dramatic “Crisis” and plays beautifully on his ballad feature “Weaver Of Dreams.”

Hubbard also more than shows master sidemen Wayne Shorter, McCoy Tyner and Elvin Jones that he was in their league, despite being only 23 at the time. Ready For Freddie is one of the quintessential albums for which Freddie Hubbard is best remembered!


Freddie Hubbard (trumpet)
Bernard McKinney (euphonium)
Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone)
McCoy Tyner (piano)
Art Davis (bass)
Elvin Jones (drums)


• Remastered and reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign
• Vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was, to include 100 essential Blue Note albums
• Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note titles
• First run of vinyl to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package
• Key to the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign is the creation of high quality audio at an affordable price
• All year long Blue Note will celebrate their iconic artists and the history of the label with various events, digital initiatives, vinyl campaigns and more

Freddie Hubbard Ready For Freddie Track Listing:

1. Arietis
2. Weaver Of Dreams
3. Marie Antoinette
4. Birdlike
5. Crisis

We Also Recommend