Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Fugazi - First Demo Vinyl LP + Download Code - direct audio

Fugazi - First Demo Vinyl LP + Download Code

Dischord Records

  • $ 1798

Fugazi First Demo Vinyl LP + Download Code

Includes 11 Songs Recorded at Inner Ear Studio in 1988 & Originally Given Away for Free on Cassette

In early January 1988 and after only ten shows, Fugazi decided to go into Inner Ear Studio to see what their music sounded like on tape. Despite the fact that Ian MacKaye, Joe Lally and Brendan Canty, had been playing together for nearly a year, it was still the early days of the band. Guy Picciotto had only been a full member of Fugazi for a few months and only sang lead on one song ("Break In"). It would be nearly another year before he would start playing guitar.

At that time, the studio was still located in the basement of engineer Don Zientara's family's house. It was a familiar space as almost all of the members of Fugazi had recorded there with their previous bands (Teen Idles, Minor Threat, Deadline, Insurrection, Rites of Spring, Skewbald, Embrace, One Last Wish). Joey Picuri (aka Joey P), who would later become one of Fugazi's longtime sound engineers, joined the band for the initial tracking. The sessions only lasted a couple of days, but tour dates and indecision about the tape would delay the final mix for another two months.

Though the band was at first pleased with the results, it soon became clear that this tape would remain a demo as new songs were being written and the older songs were evolving and changing shape while the band was out on tour. It was decided that the session would be passed out free as cassette copies, with the band actively encouraging people to share the recording. In the spring, Fugazi went out on its first U.S. tour and a few weeks after returning from the road they went back to Inner Ear to record what would become their debut Dischord release, the self-titled 7-song 12" EP.

The only song from the demo session that was formally released was "In Defense of Humans," which appeared on the State of the Union compilation in 1989. Now, some 26 years later, Dischord is releasing the entire First Demo on vinyl including the song ("Turn Off Your Guns") which wasn't featured on the original cassette.

Fugazi First Demo Track Listing:

1. Waiting Room
2. Merchandise
3. Furniture
4. Song #1
5. The Word
6. Badmouth
7. Break-In
8. Turn Off Your Guns
9. And The Same
10. In Defense of Humans
11. Joe #1

We Also Recommend