Cart 0
Gary Karr - Adagio D'Albinoni on 180g Import LP - direct audio

Gary Karr - Adagio D'Albinoni on 180g Import LP

King Records

  • $ 3999

Gary Karr Adagio D'Albinoni on 180g Import LP

Cut by Kevin Gray from the Original Analogue Master Tapes

Gary Karr, acclaimed as "the world's leading solo bassist" (Time Magazine), is, in fact, the first solo double bassist in history to make that pursuit a full-time career. It is a career that adds new lustre to his already lustrous 1611 Amati double bass which was given to him by the widow of Serge Koussevitzky.

Since his debut with Leonard Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic in 1962, Karr has performed as soloist on six continents with orchestras, including the Chicago Symphony, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Montreal Symphony, Simon Bolivar Orchestra (Caracas, Venezuela), Jerusalem Symphony, Oslo Philharmonic, Zurich Chamber Orchestra, and with all the major orchestras of Australia.

The record that set the standard for fidelity. Often imitated, never surpassed. Karr's beloved Adagio d'Albinoni - recorded September 22, 1981, at Vega Hall in Takarazuka, Japan and originally issued in 1982 - has been a perennial favorite of audiophiles the world over. Rarely, if ever, has the deep, sonorous tone of the legendary Amati double bass been captured with such precision and verisimilitude. Stately and soulful, Gary Karr was a player of uncommon grace and this was the recording that set him in the pantheon of the greatest double bass artist!


Albinoni / Beethoven / Handel / Bach (composer)
Gary Karr (double bass)
Harmon Lewis (pipe organ)


• Cut by Kevin Gray from the original analogue master tapes
• Pressed at Pallas GmbH Germany
• Full analogue products used during entire mastering process

Gary Karr Adagio D'Albinoni Track Listing:

1. Adagio in G minor (Albinoni)
2. Sonatina (Beethoven)
3. Piece No. 5 (Franck)
4. Sonate No.9 In B Minor (Handel)
5. Ave Maria (Bach)

We Also Recommend