Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
George Harrison - Gone Troppo 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

George Harrison - Gone Troppo 180g Vinyl LP

Capital Records

  • $ 2298

George Harrison Gone Troppo 180g Vinyl LP

180g Vinyl Pressing of Underrated 1982 Release Mastered from the Original Analog Master Tapes and Cut at Capitol Studios

While it's generally accepted that George Harrison bloomed late as a Beatles songwriter, there's no denying it was worth the wait. The release of All Things Must Pass, in 1970, was like unstopping a bottle. An ambitious triple-album, it set the template for the nine studio albums that would follow. Harrison continued to shape and redefine his music and legacy with a string of prolific and poignant releases throughout the remainder of the '70s and early-80s.

George's opinion of an alienating '80s musical landscape is probably best summed up by the title of his 1982 album, Gone Troppo (Australian slang for "gone crazy"), a feeling that's also reflected in the great cover art from Legs Larry Smith. It's a well crafted affair that has its share of gems including lead single "Wake Up My Love," follow-up "Dream Away" which was featured in Terry Gilliam's film Time Bandits, "That's the Way It Goes" about the world's preoccupation with money and status, and reincarnation ode "Circles," written in 1968 while The Beatles were studying Transcendental Meditation with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi.

Rolling Stone even proclaimed that, "Gone Troppo might just be Harrison's most underrated album...[It] captures Harrison at his most relaxed and playful."

George Harrison Gone Troppo Track Listing:

1. Wake Up My Love
2. That's The Way It Goes
3. I Really Love You
4. Greece
5. Gone Troppo
6. Mystical One
7. Unknown Delight
8. Baby Don't Run Away
9. Dream Away
10. Circles

We Also Recommend