We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Glen Campbell - Adios + Greatest Hits 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Glen Campbell - Adios + Greatest Hits 180g Vinyl 2LP

Universal Records

  • $ 3498

Glen Campbell - Adios + Greatest Hits 180g Vinyl 2LP

Special 2LP Edition of Glen Campbell's Acclaimed Farewell Album Adios Complete with 16-Song Greatest Hits Collection included On Second LP!

Legendary singer and guitarist Glen Campbell's final studio album, Adiós, caps off an extraordinary career that has spanned more than five decades and 50 million albums sold. Adiós was recorded at Station West in Nashville following Campbell's "Goodbye Tour" which he launched after revealing he had been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. For his final recording session, Glen turned to longtime banjo player and family friend Carl Jackson to helm the production and play guitar.

In preparation for the recording, Jackson, who joined Campbell's band in the early '70s as an 18-year-old banjo player, laid down some basic tracks and vocals for Campbell to study and practice. Jackson encouraged him every step of the way and although Campbell struggled at times because of his progressing dementia, he was clearly ecstatic about being in the studio.

The 12-track collection features songs that Campbell always loved but never got a chance to record, including several from Jimmy Webb, his longtime collaborator behind some of his biggest hits like "Wichita Lineman" "By The Time I Get To Phoenix," and "Galveston." In addition to the bittersweet title track, "Adiós," first popularized by Linda Ronstadt, Campbell also sings Webb's longing love song "Just Like Always" and country weeper "It Won't Bring Her Back." He revisits "Postcard From Paris" with his sons Cal and Shannon and daughter Ashley singing the line, "I wish you were here," resulting in a powerful and heartfelt message of a family singing together one last time.

Adiós sees Campbell putting his spin on several classic songs including "Don't Think Twice It's All Right," inspired by Jerry Reed's version of Bob Dylan's timeless tune and "Everybody's Talkin', a banjo-filled take on the song that Campbell never recorded but famously performed on the "Sonny & Cher Show" in 1973 with a 19-year-old Jackson. Campbell's daughter Ashley plays banjo on the song and joins her dad on several tracks on the album. Other songwriters featured include Roger Miller with "Am I All Alone (Or Is It Only Me)," which begins with a home recording of Miller singing the tune at a guitar pull before going into Campbell's rendition with Vince Gill on harmonies, Dickey Lee's honky tonk heartbreaker "She Thinks I Still Care" and Jerry Reed's Johnny Cash hit "A Thing Called Love."

Willie Nelson joins his old pal for a poignant duet of Nelson's 1968 "Funny How Time Slips Away" while Jackson tells Campbell's life story in "Arkansas Farmboy." "I wrote 'Arkansas Farmboy' sometime in the mid- to late-'70s on a plane bound for one of the many overseas destinations I played with Glen between 1972 and 1984," reveals Jackson. "The song was inspired by a story that Glen told me about his grandpa teaching him 'In The Pines' on a $5 Sears & Roebuck guitar when he was only a boy. That guitar led to worldwide fame and fortune, far beyond what even some in his family could comprehend."

Adiós was a true labor of love and a way for Glen Campbell to have one more chance to do what he loves to do and leave a musical gift for fans. This special 2LP edition augments Adios with a 16-track Greatest Hits collection which includes signature hits like "Rhinestone Cowboy" and his groundbreaking covers of John Hartford's "Gentle On My Mind" and Jimmy Webb's signature pieces, "By the Time I Get to Phoenix", "Wichita Lineman" and "Galveston."

Glen Campbell Adios + Greatest Hits Track Listing:

LP1 - Adios

1. Everybody's Talkin'
2. Just Like Always
3. Funny (How Time Slips Away) (feat. Willie Nelson)
4. Arkansas Farmboy
5. Am I All Alone (Or Is It Only Me) (intro by Roger Miller)
6. Am I All Alone (Or Is It Only Me) (feat. Vince Gill)
7. It Won't Bring Her Back
8. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
9. She Thinks I Still Care
10. Postcard From Paris
11. A Thing Called Love
12. Adiós

LP2 - Greatest Hits

1. Rhinestone Cowboy,
2. Wichita Lineman
3. Southern Nights
4. By The Time I Get To Phoenix
5. Galveston
6. Try A Little Kindness
7. Gentle On My Mind
8. I Wanna Live
9. Country Boy (You Got Your Fee In L.A.)
10. True Grit
11. Honey, Come Back
12. It's ONly Make Believe
13. Dreams Of The Everyday Housewife
14. Hey Little One
15. Times Like These
16. These Days

We Also Recommend