We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Gov't Mule - By A Thread 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Gov't Mule - By A Thread 180g Vinyl 2LP

Domestic LP

  • $ 1898

Gov't Mule By A Thread 180g Vinyl 2LP

Gov't Mule is one of the most successful and respected bands in the world and they've been lauded by Rolling Stone for "successfully bringing the classic power-trio sound of Cream and the Jimi Hendrix Experience into the 21st century." Now the band has completed work on By A Thread, their first studio album in three years.

Recorded largely at Willie Nelson's Pedernales Studio in 2009, the album’s origins are apparent from the first track, “Broke Down On The Brazos,” named after the nearby river, with a deep Texas stomp for the backbeat and featuring the trademark guitar-work of ZZ Top founder Billy Gibbons.

Perhaps less descriptively named, “Steppin’ Lightly” is another burner, set off by the soulful vocals and mind-bending guitar work of Haynes, who proves anew why Rolling Stone named him one of the Top 25 guitarists of all time. Other highlights include the lament “Railroad Boy,” informed by both Celtic tradition and the Mississippi Delta; the expansive psych-rock of "Monday Mourning Meltdown”; and the optimistic "Frozen Fear,” with its lush harmony and even a hint of rocksteady skank.

In recent months, Haynes has been spectacularly busy in his other dual roles as guitarist and singer for The Allman Brothers, who recently wrapped an epic 15 night stand at NYC’s Beacon, and The Dead, where he has drawn rave reviews from fans and critics alike.

Gov't Mule By A Thread Track Listing

1. Broke Down On The Brazos
2. Steppin' Lightly
3. Any Open Window
4. Railroad Boy
5. Monday Mourning Meltdown
6. Gordon James
7. Frozen Fear
8. Forevermore
9. Inside Outside Woman Blues #1
10. Scenes From A Troubled Mind
11. World Wake Up

We Also Recommend