We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Gov't Mule - Life Before Insanity 180g Import Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Gov't Mule - Life Before Insanity 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Music on Vinyl Records

  • $ 3498

Gov't Mule Life Before Insanity 180g Import Vinyl 2LP

Gov't Mule is a Southern rock jam band formed in 1994 as an Allman Brothers Band side project by Warren Haynes and Allen Woody. The band released their debut album Gov't Mule in 1995. Gov't Mule has become a staple act at music festivals across North America, with both its members and frequent guests boasting members from other notable bands, adding various funk and blues rock elements to the band's sound.

Life Before Insanity is Gov't Mule's fifth album, released in 2000 to great critical acclaim. Warren Haynes and Allen Woody formed a power trio with Matt Abts after leaving Southern Rock staple Allman Brothers Band. Precious tracks on this album include the haunting title track, the powerful "Wandering Child", "No Need To Suffer" and "Lay Your Burden Down" (the latter two are featuring Ben Harper on vocals). The most hit sensitive track proved to be "Bad Little Doggie", a ZZ-Top-like burner, which received lots of airplay. Life Before Insanity was the last album featuring bassist Allen Woody, who tragically died just six months after its release. Finally, it's released on vinyl for the first time!

"[T]he Mule recorded what by all accounts seems to be their most creative and intelligent studio album to date... [S]pecial guests on the album are former Allman Brothers bandmate Johnny Neel, who plays the keyboards with bucket loads of soul and finesse, and Hook Herrera, a master of the harmonica... All 11 of the tracks are good." - Michael B. Smith, allmusic.com


Warren Haynes, guitar, slide guitar, vocals
Allen Woody, bass, mandolin, electric upright bass, rhythm guitar, fretless bass, dulcitar
Matt Abts, drums, djembe, ashika
Michael Barbiero, additional personnel, glockenspiel
Hook Herrera, additional personnel, harmonica
Ben Harper, additional personnel, lap steel, vocals
Johnny Neel, additional personnel, organ, Wurlitzer piano, background vocals

Gov't Mule Life Before Insanity Track Listing:

1. Wandering Child
2. Life Before Insanity
3. Bad Little Doggie
4. Lay Your Burden Down
5. Fallen Down
6. World Gone Wild


1. Taste Like Wine
2. I Think You Know What I Mean
3. Far Away
4. No Need To Suffer
5. In My Life

We Also Recommend