Cart 0
Grieg Peer Gynt - (Beecham/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra) on 180g LP - direct audio

Grieg Peer Gynt - (Beecham/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra) on 180g LP

HIQ Records

  • $ 3498

Grieg Peer Gynt (Beecham/Royal Philharmonic Orchestra) on 180g LP from Hi-Q

Cut at EMI's Abbey Road Studios from the Original Master Tapes: Incredible Sound

Pressed on Super-Quiet 180g Vinyl on the Original EMI Presses: Amazing Authenticity

Superb Performance of One of the Most Beloved Classical Works in History

Norwegian poet and playwright Henrik Ibsen wrote Peer Gynt in 1867, but it was not until 1876 that an abridged version, with incidental music by Edvard Grieg, was produced at the Christiania Theatre. Peer Gynt, fashioned from Norwegian folkfore, is a Poetic Fantasy based on a character of the same name, who appears in the role of a great hunter, and slayer of Trolls in Absjornsen's "Norwegian Fairy Tales."

Grieg, intensely nationalistic and saturated with Norwegian folk music, had already made his mark in the musical world with his Piano Concerto in A minor, and his delightful songs and small scale works, for which he had a particular genius. The two orchestral suites made from the Peer Gynt music soon took their place amongst the popular in the world. This album contains perhaps the most glorious performances of Peer Gynt music ever recorded.

Even better, this classic early stereo recording (1955-1957) has been cut at EMI's Abbey Road Studios from the original EMI master tapes and pressed on 180g vinyl on original EMI presses at The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England. It also features the original album artwork. You will not find a better-sounding or looking edition of this classical masterpiece!

Grieg Peer Gynt Track Listing:

1. Wedding March
2. Ingrid's lament
3. In the Hall of the Mountain King
4. Morning
5. Ase's Death
6. 1st Arabian Dance
7. Solveig's Song
8. Anitra's Dance
9. Return of Peer Gynt (Storm Scene)
10. Wiegenlied

We Also Recommend