We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

Guster - Look Alive Vinyl LP (Indie Exclusive)

Nettwerk Records

  • $ 2698

Guster Look Alive Vinyl LP

Guster's latest studio album Look Alive was produced by English musician, composer, and producer Leo Abrahams (Regina Spektor, Brian Eno/David Byrne, Belle and Sebastian, Chromatics). The LP maintains the band’s unique charm while charting new sonic and lyric pathways.

The 9-song collection (plus 1 bonus track) – the band’s first new album in four years – was produced by Leo Abrahams (Regina Spektor, Brian Eno/David Byrne, Belle and Sebastian) and recorded in a vintage keyboard museum in Calgary, AB, with additional sessions helmed by John Congleton (St. Vincent, Alvvays) and Collin DuPuis (Angel Olsen, Lana Del Rey). It captures the group – Adam Gardner, Ryan Miller, Luke Reynolds, and Brian Rosenworcel – at an inspired moment, creating the most layered, moody and brilliantly unpredictable music of their storied career.

Perhaps it was the 30 degree below zero weather that inspired Abrahams to encourage Guster to embrace "cold sounds" during the making of Look Alive. The album’s title track opens with a stark, haunting synth refrain and veers in unexpected directions from there. "Despite having access to room after room of well-maintained analog keys, Leo gravitated to a cheap Ensoniq Mirage synth from the 1980’s," recalls Rosenworcel. "It was the beginning of a stylistic clash that played out beautifully."

"'Look Alive' is the third song the band has released from the forthcoming album, following the synth-heavy, Depeche Mode-esque 'Hard Times,' and the more upbeat 'Don't Go.' 'Look Alive' falls in between the middle of these two songs. It's moody and warm, and slithers with colorful, sinewy synths. The multi-tracked vocals hover above a subtle groove, bringing to mind Peter Gabriel's impressionistic 'White Shadow.' It's one of Guster's most musically sparkling pop songs." - NPR

Guster Look Alive Track Listing:

1. Look Alive
2. Don't Go
3. Hard Times
4. Hello Mister Sun
5. Overexcited
6. Summertime
7. Terrified
8. Mind Kontrol
9. Not For Nothing
Bonus Track:
10. When You Go Quiet

We Also Recommend