Cart 0
Hackamore Brick - One Kiss Leads To Another on LP - direct audio

Hackamore Brick - One Kiss Leads To Another on LP

Razor and Tie Records

  • $ 2499

Hackamore Brick One Kiss Leads To Another on LP

What makes a record a true cult classic? First, it must be released to a modicum of critical acclaim but zero commercial success. Second, in almost all cases the artists behind the release have to disappear immediately into obscurity. And third, over the course of decades, a dedicated core of record collectors, critics and true believers must spread the word about the album in question.

Well, by those standards, New York band Hackamore Brick’s 1970 LP One Kiss Leads to Another is the cult classic to end all cult classics (the only recent contenders might be Rodriguez’s albums Cold Fact and Coming from Reality). Released on the bubblegum-centric Kama Sutra label to positive reactions from critics ranging from Richard Meltzer to Lenny Kaye, One Kiss sounded very different from anything else on the label or, for that matter, anything else on the 1970 music scene; often cited as the first post-Velvet Underground album, it does indeed provoke comparison’s to VU’s third, self-titled record and Loaded as well as other descendants like the Modern Lovers and Television.

But the country-ish harmonies of vocalists Tommy Moonlight and Chick Newman lend the record a sound not unlike any number of current alternative “beard rock” bands plying their wares, and the discursive lyrics recall the Kinks. In short, One Kiss Leads to Another passes the fourth and hardest test of cult classic-dom, which is to remain relevant into the present, even though Moonlight and Newman didn’t record another note together as Hackamore Brick until 2009.

Real Gone Music is proud to present this remarkable record on vinyl with a bonus track, the single side “Searchin" and liner notes by Tony Rettman featuring quotes from Tommy Moonlight and pictures from the Hackamore Brick archive. Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NYC.

Hackamore Brick One Kiss Leads To Another Track Listing:

1. Reachin’
2. Oh! Those Sweet Bananas
3. I Watched You Rhumba
4. Radio
5. Peace Has Come
6. Searchin’
7. Got a Gal Named Wilma
8. I Won’t Be Around
9. And I Wonder
10. Someone You Know
11. Zip Gun Woman

We Also Recommend