Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Hank Garland - Subtle Swing 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Hank Garland - Subtle Swing 180g Vinyl LP

Sundazed Records

  • $ 2498

Hank Garland Subtle Swing 180g Vinyl LP from Sundazed Records

"Hank Garland." That was Chet Atkins' immediate response when asked who he thought was the best guitarist to ever come to Nashville. Rock, jazz, country, pop; there was no genre in which Garland could not excel. In the intensely-competitive Nashville studio scene he was at the top of the A-list players, highly recognizable style, whether playing Elvis Presley, Patsy Cline, or The Everly Brothers, among scores of others. Respect for his prowess extended beyond the Music City limits, making fans of jazz greats Charlie Parker and George Shearing.

By 1960, Hank Garland was on top of the music world. On August 23rd of that year, Garland entered Columbia Studios in Nashville with Joe Benjamin on upright bass, Joe Morello on drums and vibes wunderkind Gary Burton to record the jazz album, Winds From A New Direction. The results were so good that six days later, he returned to the studio with the same players to record Subtle Swing. The result is a stellar example of small ensemble instrumental jazz.

Subtle Swing, issued on the tiny SESAC label, was largely overlooked at the time of its original release. It went out of print and became a legendary work among guitarists, a "holy grail" hailed for its deft playing and incredible fidelity. Sundazed's edition is sourced from the original analog tapes and mastered with a guitarist's ear for Garland's scintillating string work - Subtle Swing is an essential addition to any jazz guitar LP collection!

Hank Garland Subtle Swing Track Listing:

1. What Am I to Do
2. Not for Me
3. You're Here Again
4. Just for Tonight
5. Pop Goes the Weasel
6. It's Love of Course
7. Unless You're in Love
8. Close Your Eyes
9. Rainy Afternoon
10. Call D. Law

We Also Recommend